U1-Research 2F Microscope Lab-Grad-hero

Current Students in the Cell Biology, Neurobiology & Anatomy PhD Program

Puja Agrawal

Puja Agrawal

pagrawal@mcw.edu
Mentor: Sridhar Rao, MD, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2015
Previous Education: BA, University of California, Berkeley, 2014
Research Interest: The role of nuclear architecture in regulating stem cell differentiation

Melissa Anfinson

Melissa Anfinson

manfinson@mcw.edu
Mentor: Aoy Tomita-Mitchell, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2016
Program: MSTP
Previous Education: BA, Chemistry - Chemical Biology, College of St. Benedict, 2015
Research Interest:  Developmental genetics, inherited disorders

Theresa Bluemn

theresabluemnfinal

tbluemn@mcw.edu
Mentor: Nan Zhu, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2015
Previous Education: BS, Biology-Cell and Physiology, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater, 2009
Research Interest: Normal and Malignant Hematopoiesis

Zachary Brandt

zacharybrandtfinal

zbrandt@mcw.edu
Mentor: Brian Link, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2014
Previous Education: BS, Biology, Wisconsin Lutheran College, 2014
Research Interest: Hippo signaling pathway in sensory neuron development and maintenance

Luke Christiansen

lukechristiansen-edit

christiansen@mcw.edu
Mentor: Nan Zhu, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2016
Previous Education: BS, Biology, University of Wisconsin - Parkside, 2015
Research Interest: The role of nuclear architecture in regulating stem cell differentiation

Ashley Erb

placeholder-image

aserb@mcw.edu
Mentor: Cheryl Stucky, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2017
Program: IDP
Previous Education: BS, Molecular Biology and Bioinformatics, University of Wisconsin- Parkside Research Interest: Mechanisms of pain and neurodegenerative diseases
Research Interest: Mechanisms of pain and neurodegenerative diseases

Kristina Ertel

placeholder-image

kertel@mcw.edu
Mentor: Daniel Lipinski, MSc, DPhil
Year Entered MCW: 2017
Program: IDP
Previous Education: BS, Biology Marian University, Fond du Lac WI
Research Interest: Ocular gene therapy techniques to preserve vision

Heather Heitkotter

Heather-Heitkotter

hheitkotter@mcw.edu
Mentor: Joseph Carroll, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2017
Program: NDP
Previous Education: BA, Lake Forest College
Research Interest: Exploring the connection between the eye and brain

Eric Clark

ericclarkfinal

eclark@mcw.edu
Mentor: Brian Link, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2011
Previous Education: BA, Albion College, 2012
Research Interest: Genetic basis of neurodegenerative diseases

Ashley Cowie

ashleyreynoldsfinal

acowie@mcw.edu
Mentor: Cheryl Stucky, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2014
Previous Education: BS, Marquette University, 2013
Research Interest: Mechanotransduction, pain transduction and sensation

Sarah DeBehnke

sarahdebehnkefinal

sdebehnke@mcw.edu
Mentor: Elena Semina, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2015
Previous Education: BS, Carroll University, 2013
Research Interest: Functional and mechanistic analyses of a MAC spectrum associated gene mab21l2 using a zebrafish model

Nathan Eaton

nathaneatonfinal

neaton@mcw.edu
Mentor: Herve Falet, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2016
Previous Education: University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, BS in Molecular & Cellular Biology, 2015
Research Interest: Megakaryocyte and Platelet Physiology

Hannah Nonarath

hannahfisher-edit

hfisher@mcw.edu
Mentor: Brian Link, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2016
Previous Education: UW-Milwaukee: BS-Biochemistry, UW-Milwaukee: MS-Biomedical Sciences
Research Interest: Mechanisms of retinal degeneration in Ushers Syndrome

Michael Flinn

michaelflinnfinal

mflinn@mcw.edu
Mentor: Brian Link, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2012
Previous Education: BS, Northern Illinois University, 2009; MS, Northern Illinois University, 2011
Research Interest: Upstream regulatory elements of the Hippo signaling pathway

Melanie Gartz

melaniegartz-edit

mgartz@mcw.edu
Mentor: Jennifer Strande, MD, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2017
Previous Education: MS in Cell Biology, Medical College of Wisconsin (2014); MHS in Molecular Microbiology and Immunology, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health (2011); BS in Clinical Laboratory Sciences, University of Wisconsin Milwaukee (2009)
Research Interest: Utilizing exosomes to examine the molecular mechanisms underlying cardiomyopathy in Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy

Emily Gronseth

emilygronsethfinal

egronseth@mcw.edu
Mentor: Ramani Ramachandran, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2013
Previous Education: BS, University of Wisconsin-Green Bay, 2011
Research Interest: Determining the mechanisms of medulloblastoma metastasis, concentrating on microenvironment interactions

Katelyn Heimbruch

katelynheimbruch-edit

kheimbruch@mcw.edu
Mentor: Sridhar Rao, MD, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2015
Previous Education: BS in Genetics, University of Wisconsin-Madison 
Research Interest: Cooperating Mutations in Acute Myeloid Leukemia

Kathryn Hendee

kathrynhendeefinal

khendee@mcw.edu
Mentor: Elena Semina, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2013
Previous Education: BS, Wisconsin Lutheran College, 2013
Research Interest: Involvement of PITX transcription factor family in human ocular disease

Ryan Hillmer

ryanhillmerfinal

rhillmer@mcw.edu
Mentor: Brian Link, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2012
Previous Education: BS, Carroll University 2012
Research Interest: Molecular mechanisms governing retinal neurogenesis

Alison Huckenpahler

allisonhuckenpahler-edit

ahuckenpahle@mcw.edu
Mentor: Joseph Carroll, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2014
Previous Education: BS, University of Wisconsin-Madison, 2012
Research Interest: Ocular Disease Modeling and Imaging

Rachel Linderman 

rachellinderman

rlinderman@mcw.edu
Mentor: Joseph Carroll, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2017
Previous Education: BA, Biology, Luther College, 2013
Research Interest: Retinal Vasculature imaging and changes with disease

Joshua Nord

joshuanordfinal

jnord@mcw.edu
Mentor: Lisa Cirillo, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2013
Previous Education: BS, Concordia University of Wisconsin, 2011
Research Interest: Transcriptional Regulation of Liver Development

Dwani Patel

dwanipatel-edit

ddpatel@mcw.edu
Mentor: Daniel Lipinski, MSc, DPhil
Year Entered MCW: 2015
Previous Education: BS, Bioengineering, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 2015
Research Interest: Investigating the role of endothelial cells and retinal pericytes in the pathogenesis of diabetic retinopathy

Ayana Jamal 

AyanaJamal

ajamal@mcw.edu
Mentor: Brian Link, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2016
Program: MSTP
Previous Education: BS, Molecular and Cellular Biology, University of Illinois - Urbana-Champaign, Minor, Chemistry
Research Interest: Developmental Biology, Regenerative/Stem Cell Biology

Ben O’Brien-Hokanson

benobrienhokenson

bsobrien@mcw.edu
Mentor: Allison Ebert, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2017
Program: NDP
Previous Education: BA, Biology, UW-Madison
Research Interest: Neurodegenerative disease

Benjamin Sajdak

benjaminsajdakfinal

besajdak@mcw.edu
Mentor: Joseph Carroll, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2014
Previous Education: BS, Biology, UW-Oshkosh, 2013
Research Interest: Visual Neuroscience - study of the structures of the retina using adaptive optics

Alexander Salmon

alexandersalmonfinal

asalmon@mcw.edu
Mentor: Joseph Carroll, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2014
Previous Education: BS, Neurobiology, UW-Madison, 2014
Research Interest: Vision

Emily Seminary

emilyseminaryfinal

eseminary@mcw.edu
Mentor: Allison Ebert, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2014
Previous Education: BA, Augustana College, 2014
Research Interest: Studying Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis using induced pluripotent stem cells

Michelle Storage

michellestoragefinal

mstorage@mcw.edu
Mentor: Rashmi Sood, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2014
Previous Education: Double majored Cellular Biology and Honors Chemistry with Mathematics minor, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater, 2014
Research Interest: Double majored Cellular Biology and Honors Chemistry with Mathematics minor, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater, 2014

Erica Woertz

ericawoertzfinal

ewoertz@mcw.edu
Mentor: Joseph Carroll, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2014
Previous Education: BS, Biology, Azusa Pacific University, 2012
Research Interest: Retinal and cortical structure and function in human albinism

Jonathan Young

jonathonyoungfinal

jbyoung@mcw.edu
Mentor: Iris Kassem, MD, PhD
Year Entered MCW:
Previous Education: BS, Marquette University, 2014
Research Interest: Pediatric Ocular Disease

Sai-Suma Samudrala

Sai-Suma Samudrala

ssamudrala@mcw.edu
Mentor: Aoy Tomita-Mitchell, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2016
Program: MSTP
Previous Education: BS, Molecular Biology, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Research Interest: Congenital Heart Disease