giving hero image


2019 Women in Science Lecture Series

Women in Science Lecture Series

The Women in Science Lecture Series provides an opportunity to meet outstanding female scientists and physicians and learn about their cutting-edge research.

The series is a membership program with five enlightening presentations, in lay language, designed to draw attention to scientific research projects at MCW as well as generate support for female scientists who serve as role models and mentors.

The successful WIS Series has been going strong since 2007.

Women in Science Payroll Deduction Form
Women in Science Founding Members & Committee

Register Now

It was inspiring to see the impact and contributions that women in science are currently making towards improving human health!

Women in Science guest

2018 Women in Science Award Recipients

The Women in Science Awards are funded through an endowment that is supported by Women in Science memberships and sponsorships 

Women Pioneers in Research Award - $10,000

The Women Pioneer in Research Award is an annual $10,000 award presented to a female faculty member nominated by her peers and/or mentors for her outstanding, ongoing research. The 2018 Women Pioneer in Research Award recipient is Judy E. Kim, MD.

Dr. Kim is a Professor in the Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences at the Medical College of Wisconsin. Dr. Kim has been a trail-blazer for Korean-Americans, becoming the first Korean-American to become a member of the American Ophthalmological Society, first to become a member of all three US retina societies, only the second Korean-American to become a Professor of Ophthalmology in the United States and the first to do so in Retina. Dr. Kim has received numerous awards and honors in recognition of her clinical excellence, leadership and service. She was named in the Retina Hall of Fame and was named one of the "150 Innovators in Retina". Since 2003, Dr. Kim has been named in the "Best Doctors in America".  

Dr. Kim has been actively involved in more than 60 multi-center clinical trials, most as the principal investigator, has served as chair of the Diabetic Retinopathy Clinical Research Network and as chair for the Council for Women's Advocacy, the Diversity and Inclusion Committee and the Oversight Committee on Continuing Medical Education at the Medical College of Wisconsin. She has mentored the research of 23 medical students, 45 residents and fellows, and 12 international physician fellows. 

Congratulations Dr. Kim!


Rising Pioneer Award - $5,000

The Rising Pioneer Award  is a new $5,000 annual award given to a Medical College of Wisconsin female, non-binary or gender-queer faculty member who is in the rising stage of their research trajectory. This award recognizes a qualified faculty member whose research is pioneering and is deemed likely to be highly influential for decades to come. 

The 2018 Rising Pioneer Award recipient is Michele Battle, PhD. Dr. Battle is an Associate Professor in the Department of Cell Biology, Neurobiology and Anatomy, where she leads an internationally recognized research program in the field of gastrointestinal epithelial cell and developmental biology. She uses cutting-edge biochemical, cellular and animal approaches to understand fundamental mechanisms involved in the gastrointestinal development, homeostasis and disease. Dr. Battle's publications provide significant and impactful contributions to understanding gastrointestinal development and function. 

Dr. Battle excels as an educator, leader, mentor and advocate for women in science at MCW. She is committed to developing the next generation of scientists and has chaired the interdisciplinary program in biomedical sciences graduate program recruitment committee since 2011. 

Congratulations Dr. Battle!


The Edward J. Lennon, MD Award for an Outstanding Woman Postdoctoral Researcher

The Edward J. Lennon, MD Award for an Outstanding Woman Postdoctoral Researcher is a $1,000 scholarship presented to a fellow for continued research. This award is funded and presented by Women in Science Founder’s Circle member Jan Lennon, in memory of her late husband, Edward J. Lennon, MD, former dean and president of the Medical College of Wisconsin.

Dr. Slaker is a postdoctoral fellow in the Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology, where she works under the direction of Dr. Christopher Olsen, studying reward behaviors in rats and mice.Dr. Slaker was recently awarded a National Research Service Award Fellowship through the National Institute on Drug Abuse in which she will be examining how the brain changes from initial drug experience to late abuse. 

Congratulations Dr. Slaker!


Women in Science Student Awards

Women in Science Student Awards are $500 awards presented to female students who have exemplified superior work in their area of study at the Medical College of Wisconsin. An award is given to one medical student, one graduate student and one pharmacy student.

2018 Medical Student Award Recipient -  Courtney Goulet

2018 Graduate Student Award Recipient - Melanie Gartz, MS, MHS

2018 Pharmacy Student Award Recipient - Heather Dalton 

Contact Us

Sydney Clark

Events Specialist

(414) 955-4732

Find Women in Science on Facebook