U2-Physicians 3F Hall Hub Back-hero

Anesthesiology trainees earn top awards at 2019 Midwest Anesthesia Residents Conference

MARC groupThirty-four trainees representing the Medical College of Wisconsin presented at the Midwest Anesthesia Residents Conference April 12-14, claiming 17 first-, second- or third-place awards. Second-year medical student Lyall Glait took home the overall conference research award, earning a $1,000 prize.

MARC is the largest anesthesia residents’ conference in the world, with approximately 700 attending annually. Its mission is to encourage and support resident research and scholarly activity, and to allow residents to share work among their peers in a friendly, educational atmosphere. Individuals representing MCW – whose training level ranges from student to fellow – presented 35 PowerPoint presentations and posters, topics of which consisted of a trainee’s research, or an interesting case. Half of our presenters earned an award.

First-place recipients:

  • Albert Byun, second-year medical student, General Anesthesia
  • Janelle Francksen DO, resident, General Anesthesia
  • Lyall Glait, third-year medical student, Scientific Poster
  • Dustin Hang MD, resident, Cardiac Anesthesia
  • David Lambert, second-year medical student, Airway Management
  • Braeden O’Neill DO, resident, General Anesthesia
  • Luis Telles-Hernandez MD, resident, Airway Management

Second-place recipients:

  • Alexander Haroldson, second-year medical student, Scientific Poster
  • Julie Harvey MD, resident, Obstetric Anesthesia
  • Jessica Meister Berger MD, resident, Pain Medicine
  • Gabriel Rodriguez MD, resident, General Anesthesia

Third-place recipients:

  • Stuart Feichtinger MD, resident, General Anesthesia
  • Steven Kapeles MD, intern, Pain Medicine
  • Todd Korthals MD, resident, Obstetric Anesthesia
  • Jillian Nard DO, resident, Pain Medicine
  • Trevor Peterson MD, resident, Obstetric Anesthesia
  • Mario Scarpinato, third-year medical student, Pain Medicine

Also participating in the meeting were residents Kyle Czarnecki DO, Robyn Gorski DO, Kyle Greiber MD, Tyler Griebel MD, Annie Huang MD, Braden Jex DO, Radhika Krishnan MBBS, Ashley Lewis MD, Charles Penn MD, Cory Robers MD, Nicholas Ruys MD, Jason Smith MD and Mark Wandzel DO; fellow Justinn Tanem MD; and medical students Mario Castellanos, Matthew Konz and Jessie Ma.

Preparation for the conference spans months. The effort is led by the Department of Anesthesiology’s MARC Director and Co-Director, Dr. Christina Diaz and Dr. Barbara Meinecke, respectively. Presenters first create an abstract, along with a poster or PowerPoint slideshow with a timed presentation. Several practice sessions follow, leading up to the April meeting.

The Association of Midwest Academic Anesthesia Chairs, Inc. has sponsored MARC annually since 1961. AMAAC is comprised of the Chairs of 33 Anesthesia Departments in the Midwestern United States and Canada, ranging geographically from northern New York to central Kansas. Its central mission is to sponsor MARC, which is hosted by AMAAC member departments on a rotating basis. The 2020 event will be held in Milwaukee, hosted by MCW and the University of Wisconsin.