U2-Physicians 3F Hall Hub Back-hero

Medical College of Wisconsin Announces 2022 President’s Community Engagement Award Winners

2022 MCW President's Community Engagement Award WinnersThe Medical College of Wisconsin (MCW) of Community Engagement (CE) was pleased to host the 2022 President’s Community Engagement Award Ceremony on Wednesday, May 25. Held virtually, the ceremony was presided over by John R. Raymond, Sr., MD, MCW president and CEO, and Staci Young, PhD, interim senior associate dean for community engagement.

Awards were bestowed in four categories in recognition of exemplary community engagement work by MCW faculty, staff, students and community partners/programs. The ceremony highlighted the tremendous breadth and significance of community-engaged work undertaken by MCW personnel and community partners.

“The President’s Community Engagement Award is a time-honored tradition of recognizing and extending gratitude to those who work tirelessly to advance community engagement at MCW,” says Dr. Young. “The award symbolizes MCW’s commitment to fostering partnerships with our community members in Milwaukee and southeastern Wisconsin, and we are honored to celebrate this commitment along with President Raymond. Now more than ever, it is important to show how greatly we appreciate these selfless and dedicated individuals.”

Year upon year the Office of Community Engagement builds and supports a large and strong group of people who are dedicated to achieving excellence in community engagement and who contribute to the wealth of resources at MCW for improving the health of our communities. We thank and honor this year’s awardees for upholding the vision and advancing MCW’s mission of community engagement.

2022 President’s Community Engagement Awardees include:

Community Partner / Program

  • Joy Tapper, MPA, Executive Director of Milwaukee Health Care Partnership
  • The Community-Led Mobilization team of Lorraine Lathen, Aziz Abdullah, Nick Tomaro, Marcus Austin
  • The 2020 & 2021 Boards of Directors of the Saturday Clinic for the Uninsured (MCW student-run program)

MCW Student: Raquel Valdes

MCW Staff

  • Kelsey Heindel
  • Madeline Winn, PA-C

MCW Faculty

  • Piero Antuono, MD
  • Kirsten Beyer, PhD, MPH, MS

View the ceremony recording and learn more