U2-Physicians 3F Hall Hub Back-hero

Radiation Oncology Medical Physics Residents Earn Awards at ASTRO National Meeting

All 2020-2021 residents in the Medical Physics Residency Program in the Department of Radiation Oncology have earned an ASTRO 2021 Annual Meeting Abstract Award. The residents will be receiving their awards at the 63rd annual ASTRO meeting in Chicago from Oct. 24-27.

Receiving Basic/Translational Science Abstract Awards

  • Haidy Nasief, PhD, for her abstract Automatically determining necessity of online adaptive replanning based on MRI wavelet multiscale texture features for MRI-guided adaptive radiation therapy
  • Ying Zhang, PhD, for her abstract A Deep Learning-based Automatic Contour Quality Assurance Pipeline for Complex Anatomy on MRI
  • They are 2 of 30 winners selected from almost 2,000 abstract submissions.

Receiving a Recognition Award

  • Hassan Jassar, PhD, for his abstract Real-Time Motion Tracking based on Orthogonal Cine MRI During MR-guided Radiation Therapy for Prostate Cancer
  • Only 13 residents were selected to receive this award.

Radiation Oncology 2021 ASTRO Awardees

The Medical Physics Residency Program was started 2008 and accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of Medical Physics Education Programs (CAMPEP) in 2009. The three-year program was designed to train medical physicists in both the academic and clinical facets of radiation oncology physics. Kristofer Kainz, PhD, is the program director.