U2-Physicians 3F Hall Hub Back-hero

Third annual Tom P. Aufderheide, MD, MS Endowed Lecture held Sept. 20

The third annual Tom P. Aufderheide, MD, MS Endowed Lecture, made possible by a generous donation from Susan Robertson, PhD, occurred on Thursday, September 20, 2018. This year’s speaker was Lance B. Becker, MD, FAHA, an internationally recognized researcher in cardiac arrest at the Feinstein Institute for Medical Research, and Professor and Chair of the Department of Emergency Medicine at Hofstra/Northwell School of Medicine.

Dr. Becker presented captivating lectures titled,  “Advanced Resuscitation for Emergency Medicine: Going Beyond Traditional ACLS” at emergency medicine grand rounds and a second, basic science lecture in the Cardiovascular Research Center titled, “Oxygen, Mitochondria, and Reperfusion Injury”. The talks generated considerable interest in cardiac arrest resuscitation CQI initiatives, mechanical CPR, use of extracorporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO) for cardiac arrest refractory to standard treatment, and new insights into mitochondrial metabolism of oxygen during states of ischemia and reperfusion.

The event also provided the opportunity for discussion of ongoing and potentially new, collaborative initiatives between the Cardiovascular Center, the Department of Cardiology, and the Department of Emergency Medicine (attached photo).

“The event was a resounding success and received universally positive feedback from participants, said Tom Aufderheide. We’re already looking forward to next year!”

View Dr. Becker’s lectures:


Photo legend: The Aufderheide Endowed lecture provided the opportunity for collaborative discussions between the Cardiovascular Research Center and the Department of Emergency Medicine and Division of Cardiology. Seated (left to right) are: Ivor J. Benjamin, MD (Director, Cardiovascular Center), Ian B. K. Martin, MD (Chair, Department of Emergency Medicine), Susan Robertson, PhD (Endowed Lecture Donor), Mario R. Colella, DO (Medical Director, Milwaukee County EMS), Anne B. Aufderheide, Lance B. Becker, MD (Visiting Professor and Speaker), Tom P. Aufderheide, MD (Associate Chair of Research Affairs, Emergency Medicine), and Jorge Saucedo, MD (Chair, Department of Cardiology).