Physicians Hall Front

Women in Science series honors Medical College of Wisconsin researchers

Milwaukee, Nov. 7, 2017 – Four Medical College of Wisconsin (MCW) female researchers were honored at the Medical College of Wisconsin's (MCW) annual Women in Science Awards Luncheon on October 17. The luncheon, held at MCW, was the final event in the 11th annual Women in Science series. This year, the awards celebration included two $10,000 research awards to established scientists and two $1,000 research awards to outstanding women postdoctoral researchers.

The recipients of the $10,000 Women Pioneers in Research award for 2017 are Beth A. Drolet, MD, professor of dermatology; and Ann K. Rosenthal, MD, vice chair and chief of rheumatology, Will and Cava Ross Professor of Medicine and vice chair for faculty development.

The recipients for this year’s $1,000 Edward J. Lennon, M.D. Award for Outstanding Women Postdoctoral Researchers are Karima Ait Aissa, PhD, Department of Cardiology, and Pan Pan, PhD, Department of Hematology and Oncology. Dr. Lennon was a former dean and president of MCW.

The Women in Science lecture series gave the public an opportunity to meet and support local female scientists and physicians and to hear about their research. Johnson Bank sponsored the event.

2017 Women In Science awards

Pictured from left to right: Sandra Pfister, PhD, associate professor in the Department of Pharmacology & Toxicology at MCW and Chair, Council for Women’s Advocacy; and Beth Drolet, MD, Professor of Dermatology and Pediatrics at MCW.

MCW Media Contacts

The media relations team at MCW is happy to assist in coordinating experts for interviews. Please reach out to us at:
(414) 955-8761
Contact us

Contact Location Lab Photo