The Jonathan B. Towne Visiting Professor



Jonathan B. Towne, MD, Professor and Chief Emeritus for the Department of Vascular Surgery retired June 30, 2007 after more than 30 years at The Medical College of Wisconsin. To perpetually commemorate his dedicated years of surgical academic and professional leadership, the Department of Surgery is proud to honor him through a named visiting professorship. The Jonathan T. Towne Visiting Professorship has been established to bring leading experts and educators involved in the multidisciplinary care for vascular disease to The Medical College of Wisconsin. Dr. Towne dedicated his career to inspiring and educating students and physicians whose interests lie in healing through education and collaboration.

Dr. Towne joined the faculty in 1975 as Chief of the Vascular

Surgery Section at the College and Director of Vascular Surgery Service at the Clement J. Zablocki VA Medical Center. In 1981, he was appointed Director of Vascular Surgery Service at John L. Doyne Hospital. For more than 20 years, he has served as Chief of the Division of Vascular Surgery.

Prior to coming to the Medical College, Dr. Towne completed his general surgery residency at the University of Nebraska; served as the Chief of General Surgery in the United States Air Force at the USAF Hospital on Vandenberg Air Force Base; and completed his vascular surgery fellowship at Baylor University Medical Center.

Dr. Towne has earned numerous honors from the College and his students, including the Medical College's Distinguished Service Award and Surgery's Teacher of the Year Award.

Dr. Towne has served in leadership positions on many local, regional and national committees, societies and other professional organizations. He has served as the President of the Central Surgical Association from 2002 to 2003; as the President of the Society of Vascular Surgery from 1999-2000; and is currently on the Board of Directors for the American Board of Surgery.

Dr. Towne helped develop a multidisciplinary model of care for vascular disease at the College, Froedtert Hospital and the Zablocki VA Medical Center requiring a high level of cooperation between Vascular Surgery and Interventional Radiology through commitment, education and collaboration forever changing the treatment of vascular disease.

Past Speakers

2020: CANCELLED

2019

Ronald L. Dalman, MD (PDF) (grand rounds lecture video) Dr. Walter C. and Elsa R. Chidester Professor of Surgery Chief, Stanford Vascular Surgery Stanford University School of Medicine

2018

Benjamin W. Starnes, MD, FACS University of Washington

2017

Ross Milner, MD University of Chicago Professor of Surgery Co-Director, Center for Aortic Diseases

2016

Bruce L. Gewertz, MD

2015 Gilbert R. Upchurch, Jr., MD

2014 James S. T. Yao, MD, PhD

2013 Timothy F. Kresowik, MD

2012

Julia A. Freischlag, MD

2011 Dennis F. Bandyk, MD

2010 K. Craig Kent, MD

2009 Robert M. Zwolak, MD, PhD

2007 William H. Pearce, MD