Armand J. Quick Award

For Outstanding Senior
Medical Students in Biochemistry

AJ Quick, MD PhD
The Armand J. Quick Award honors the memory of Armand J. Quick, MD, PhD, Chairman of the Department of Biochemistry from 1944-1964.

Dr. Quick was an internationally recognized contributor to knowledge concerning the basic mechanisms of blood clotting and to techniques involving the diagnosis and treatment of hemorrhagic disorders. Dr. Quick is best known for the Quick prothrombin test. 

The Quick Award is given to honor the senior students who, in the opinion of the faculty of the Department of Biochemistry, have demonstrated outstanding scholarship in Biochemistry and research with a dedication to future medical research.

Open AllClose All
  Armand J. Quick Award Current Recipients

Erica Schmitt, MD, PhD

Erica Schmitt was born and raised in Wisconsin. She studied at the University of Wisconsin Madison where she received a Bachelor of Science degree, majoring in Biochemistry. In May 2006 she graduated with highest distinction and began medical school at the Medical College of Wisconsin.

Upon admission to MCW, Erica applied to and gained acceptance into the Medical Scientist Training Program. She completed her PhD under the mentorship of Dr. Calvin B. Williams in the department of Microbiology, Immunology and Molecular Genetics. Her doctoral dissertation research focused on the mechanisms utilized by regulatory T cells, a special subset of immune cells, to restrain misdirected immune responses at mucosal interfaces. Erica’s research was published in several high impact journals, highlighted on the cover of Immunity, and featured in the Journal of Immunology. She presented her work at several national conferences on immunology and inflammatory bowel disease.

Erica successfully defended her PhD dissertation in December 2012 and she will complete her MD degree in May 2015. After graduation, she will begin training at the Washington University/ St. Louis Children’s Hospital Pediatric Residency Program where she will participate in the Physician-Scientist Training Program. She plans to continue research throughout her training with the intention to establish a career as a physician-scientist.

Ben E. Biesterveld, MD

Ben was born and raised in Durand, Wisconsin. He then went on to UW-Madison, graduating with honors and receiving a B.S. in Kinesiology prior to coming to Medical College of Wisconsin.

Shortly after coming to MCW, Ben joined the lab of Dr. David Gourlay (Department of Surgery) to participate in research studying necrotizing enterocolitis (NEC). Most of his work has been targeted at investigating the enzyme, intestinal alkaline phosphatase (IAP) as it relates to NEC pathogenesis and efforts to replace IAP enterally as a potential treatment for NEC. Ben’s work was done as part of the summer research program, physician scientist pathway and honors in research program. The efforts of Ben and the Gourlay lab resulted in numerous publications and presentations as well as national and local research awards from the American College of Surgeons, Association of Academic Surgery and MCW.

After graduating from MCW, Ben will begin his surgery training at the University of Michigan, and ultimately work towards a career as a surgeon-scientist.

  Previous Armand J. Quick Awardees

2014 - Tyce Kearl MD, PhD and Wasakorn Kittipongdaja, MD

2013 - Krista E. Asp, MD

2012 - Jamie Privratsky MD, PhD and Kevin Riggle, MD

2011 - Lance M. Relland MD, PhD and Cheryl J. Maenpaa, MD

2010 - Jonathan M. Skarie MD, PhD and Corbin D. Sullivan, MD

2009 - Brandon T. Larsen MD, PhD and Christopher R. Henry, MD

2008 - Andrea B. French, MD

2007 - Sakkapol Ongwijitwat MD, PhD and Joseph P. Roche, MD

2006 - Sachin Patel MD, PhD and Michael D. Roseblum MD, PhD

2005 - Timothy J. Nelson MD, PhD

2004 - Matthew J. Riese MD, PhD and Brooke A. King, MD

2003 - Brent L. Fogel MD, PhD and Andrew E. Trochlell, MD

2002 - Jason A. Jarzembowski MD, PhD

2001 - Jonathan M. Bock MD and Anand Krishnan Ganesan MD, PhD

2000 - Stacey A. Strege-Sjoberg MD, PhD and Robert E. Sonnenburg, MD

1999 - David Potter MD, PhD

1998 - Heather A. Stanko, MD

1997 - Richard J. Gumina MD, PhD

1996 - Cathleen M. McCabe, MD

1995 - Grace Clarke, MD

1994 - Paul W. Hruz MD, PhD

1993 - Gerald P. Loushin, MD

1992 - David K. Gaffney MD, PhD

1991 - James P. Thomas MD, PhD

1990 - John Caton, MD

1989    Bert G. Tardieu, MD

1988    Barry J. Roseman, MD

1987    James P. Witter MD, PhD

1986    DuWayne Willett, MD

1985    Jon R. Resar, MD

1984    Mark L. Kadden, MD

1983    Mark I. Freedman, MD

1982    Carol Anne Popp MD, PhD

Contact Information

Medical College of Wisconsin
Dept. of Biochemistry
8701 Watertown Plank Rd.
Milwaukee, WI 53226
(414) 955-8435
(414) 955-6510 fax

Biochemistry Site Map

Medical College of Wisconsin
8701 Watertown Plank Road
Milwaukee, WI 53226
(414) 955-8296
Directions & Maps
© 2016

Page Updated 08/06/2015