Current Students

 

 

Alsheikh, AmmarAlsheikh, Ammar

aalsheikh@mcw.edu
Mentor: Dr. David L. Mattson
Year in Program: 3
Previous Education: Alfaisal University, MBBS, Medicine
Research Interest: Mechanisms of hypertension as the biggest risk factor for cardiovascular mortality. In specific investigating the role of immune system in hypertension and potential therapeutic targets.

Arzua, ThiagoArzua, Thiago

tarzua@mcw.edu
Mentor: Dr. Xiaowen Bai
Year in Program: 2
Previous Education: University of South Florida, Chemistry 
Research Interest: Focus on human stem cells (hESC) derived neuronal models, such as cerebral organoids, and their use in modeling different neurotoxic pathologies. 

 

Behlke, ChristinaBehlke, Christina

cbehlke@mcw.edu
Mentor: Dr. Bert Forster and Dr. Matt Hodges
Year in Program: 2
Previous Education: Ottawa University, BS, Healthcare Management; Marian University, BS, Biology.
Research Interest: I am interested in integrative and translational physiology research, with a particular love for neurophysiology.

Bukowy, JohnBukowy, John

jbukowy@mcw.edu
Mentor: Dr. Allen W. Cowley, Jr.
Year in Program: 4+
Previous Education: Marquette University, BS, Biomedical Engineering; Illinois Institute of Technology, MS, Electrical Engineering
Research Topic: Intra-renal distribution of blood flow. Applications of machine learning in histological analysis.

Burgraff, NicholasBurgraff, Nicholas

nburgraff@mcw.edu
Mentor: Dr. Bert Forster
Year in Program: 3
Previous Education: University of Wisconsin Green Bay, BS, Human Biology
Research Topic: Mechanisms of Ventilatory and Neural Adaptations to Chronic Hypercapnia

 

Dillard, MatthewDillard, Matthew

mdillard@mcw.edu
Mentor: Dr. Matt Hodges 
Year in Program: 2
Previous Education: Eureka College, BS, Neuroscience. 
Research Interest: My project is focused on investigating “The Role of Neuromodulator Receptors in the Retrotrapezoid Nucleus on the Ventilatory CO2 Chemoreflex” or simply “Neural Control of Breathing”.

 

Dissanayake, LashodyaDissanayake, Lashodya

ldissanayake@mcw.edu
Mentor:
Year in Program: 1
Previous Education: Voronezh State University (Voronezh, Russia), Pre-University Preparatory Certificate; Kursk State Medical University (Kursk, Russia), MD
Research interest: Understanding how alterations in microRNAs and protein coding genes influence cardiovascular disease, renal disease, and cardiorenal syndromes. 

Exner, EricExner, Eric

eexner@mcw.edu
Mentor: Dr. Andrew Greene
Year in Program: 4+ (MSTP)
Previous Education: University of Wisconsin – Oshkosh, BS, Biology
Research Topic: Interactions of renin-angiotensin system receptors in vascular homeostasis and endothelial progenitor cell function

Fehrenbach, DanielFehrenbach, Daniel

dfehrenbach@mcw.edu
Mentor: Dr. David Mattson
Year in Program: 3
Previous Education: UW-Madison B.S. Molecular Biology
Research Interest: I am looking into the role the innate immune system plays in the development of salt-sensitive hypertension and chronic kidney disease.

 

Alicia IvoryIvory, Alicia

aivory@mcw.edu
Mentor: Dr. Andrew Greene
Year in Program: 2 (MSTP)
Previous Education: Grambling State University, BS, Biological Science & BA, Psychology
Research Topic: Endothelial progenitor cell mechanisms of blood vessel repair

 

Jensen, DavidJensen, David

dmjensen@mcw.edu    
Mentor: Dr. Mingyu Liang
Year in Program: 4+
Previous Education: University of Wisconsin – Parkside, BS, Biology
Research Topic: The role of miRNA in endothelial dysfunction in hypertension and diabetes.

 

Jewell, MadelineJewell, Madeline

mjewell@mcw.edu
Mentor: Dr. Melinda Dwinell
Year in Program: 1
Previous Education: Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology, BS, Biomedical Engineering
Research Interest: Genetics, Regenerative Medicine

Kadlec, AndrewKadlec, Andrew

akadlec@mcw.edu
Mentor: Dr. David Gutterman
Year in Program: 4 (MSTP)
Previous Education: University of Wisconsin – Madison, BA, English
Research Topic: The role of the microcirculation in coronary artery disease

 

Logan, SarahLogan, Sarah

sarahlogan@mcw.edu
Mentor: Dr. Xiaowen Bai
Year in Program: 4
Previous Education: Bates College, BS, Biology
Research Topic: Neurodegeneration, neuroplasticity, trauma, early brain development

Anna ManisManis, Anna

amanis@mcw.edu
Mentors:  Dr. Matt Hodges
Year in Program: 2
Previous Education:  UC Davis, BS, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Research interest:  Ion channels work to maintain homeostasis in the kidney as well as the brain.  I am interested in the effects of disrupting a potassium channel (Kir5.1) with regard to consequences in breathing, seizure activity, and blood pressure control.

Marquez, MaribelMarquez, Maribel

mmarquez@mcw.edu
Mentor: Dr. Aron Geurts
Year in Program: 4
Previous Education: California State Polytechnic University, BS, Microbiology
Research Interest: My research interest is in genome engineering and in using human iPSC-derived Cardiomyocytes as an in virto model to investigate patient specific gene variants that may be causal to the clinical presentation.

Nasci, VictoriaNasci, Victoria

vnasci@mcw.edu
Mentor: Dr. Alison Kriegel
Year in Program: 2
Previous Education: Marquette University BS in Biological Sciences
Research Topic: Cardio-renal syndrome type 4 and the involvement of microRNA's

Paddock, SamanthaPaddock, Samantha

spaddock@mcw.edu
Mentor: Dr. Caitlin O'Meara and Dr. Michael Flister
Year in Program: 2
Previous Education: UW-Madison, BS, Biology 
Research Topic: Role of IL13 in cardiac regeneration of neonatal mice

 

Paterson, MarkPaterson, Mark

mpaterso@mcw.edu
Mentor: Dr. Alison Kriegel
Year in Program: 4
Previous Education: Wisconsin Lutheran College, BS, Biology
Research Interest: The Kriegel Lab studies the molecular mechanisms that underlie chronic renocardiac syndrome (CRS4), especially focusing on the role of miRNAs in mediating pathophysiology.

Plasterer, CodyPlasterer, Cody

cplasterer@mcw.edu
Mentor: Dr. Michael Flister
Year in Program: 3
Previous Education: Utica College, BS, Biology
Research Interest: identifying genetic risk factors of breast cancer. 

 

Roberts, MichelleRoberts, Michelle

miroberts@mcw.edu
Mentor: Dr. Mingyu Liang and Dr. Aron Geurts
Year in Program: 1
Previous Education: University of Wisconsin – Parkside, BS, Biological Sciences; MS, Applied Molecular Biology
Research Topic: Epigenomics of hypertension, Targeted Methylation using CRIPSR/Cas technologies

 

Spires, DenishaSpires, Denisha

dspires@mcw.edu
Mentor: Dr. Alexander Staruschenko
Year in Program: 3
Previous Education: Tougaloo College, BS, Biology
Research Topic: The pathophysiological role of ion channels in the kidney and in the progression of renal disease.

 

Stodola, TimothyStodola, Timothy

tstodola@mcw.edu
Mentor: Dr. Andrew Greene and Dr. Mingyu Liang
Year in Program: 4+
Previous Education: University of Minnesota -Twin Cities, BS
Research: Physiological Genomics and Epigenomics

Tinklenberg, JenniferTinklenberg, Jennifer

jtinklenberg@mcw.edu
Mentor:
Year in Program: 1
Previous Education: UW-Stevens Point, BS; UW-Milwaukee, MS, Biology
Research Interest: I am interested in biomarkers related to muscle disease as well as therapeutic treatments for myopathies and dystrophies.

Uche, NnamdiUche, Nnamdi

nuche@mcw.edu
Mentor:
Year in Program: 1
Previous Education: University of Nebraska-Lincoln, BS
Research Topic: Endothelial Dysfunction

Wade, BrittanyWade, Brittany

bwade@mcw.edu
Mentor: Dr. David Mattson
Year in Program: 4+
Previous Education: Northern Illinois University, BS, Biochemistry
Research Topic: Role of Lymphocytes and Immune Response in the Hypertension & Renal Damage

Williams, AnnaWilliams, Anna

annwilliams@mcw.edu
Mentor: Dr. Mingyu Liang
Year in Program: 4+
Previous Education: UW-Madison, BS, Zoology & Anthropology; MS, Biotechnology
Research Interest: I use whole genome approaches to identify biomarkers in order to predict disease progression and treatment response in patients with chronic kidney disease.