EmailEmail    |   Bookmark Page Bookmark  |   RSS Feeds RSS  |   Print Page Print  


The Department of Anesthesiology's mission is threefold:

  • achieving excellence in providing patient care
  • teaching medical students, residents and fellows
  • conducting research

Delivery of anesthesia for adults and children at six different institutions sets the standard of care in southeastern Wisconsin.  This also creates an educational environment for housestaff and medical students that utilizes a variety of learning activities.  Core training is based on one-on-one instruction with faculty and guided hands-on experience.  The didactic educational program of the department consists of case discussions, lectures, journal clubs, and visiting professorships.    Read more



Meet our new Interns...

2014-2015 Interns


Please wait while we gather your results.

Anesthesiology News

Alumni Newsletter Spring/Summer 2014

Fresh Gas Vol 4 No 1 with feature stories, residency and fellowship updates, department news, etc.

Another great year for MCW at MARC

MCW's anesthesiology residents won 8 awards on their 30 presentations at the 2014 Midwest Anesthesia Residents Conference.

MCW Research Day

Residents Julie Freed and Micah Long receive awards for their abstracts.

In the Spotlight......

Congratulations to all our outstanding faculty members that were recognized at the Medical College of Wisconsin's Convocation Ceremony, held on September 14, 2014!

New Dean

Elizabeth H. Ellinas, MD
Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs

Professional Awards and Honors

Rebecca Cogwell Anderson, PhD
Zeljko J. Bosnjak, PhD
Christina Diaz, MD
Elizabeth Ellinas, MD
Anthony G. Hudetz, DBM, PhD
Judy Kersten, MD
Rose Campise Luther, MD

Diversity Summer Research Ed. Program Mentors

Zeljko J. Bosnjak, PhD
Dorothee Weihrauch, DVM, Phd

Research Opportunity Acad. Dev. Mentors

Zeljko J. Bosnjak, PhD

Student Summer Research Program Mentors

Martin Bienengraeber, PhD
Zeljko J. Bosnjak, PhD
Thomas J. Ebert, MD, PhD
David F. Stowe, MD, PhD
Dorothee Weihrauch, DVM, PhD

Woman Pioneer In Research Award

Judy R. Kersten, MD

Promoted to Professor

Mohammad El-Orbany, MD

New Faculty - Assistant Professor

Kiran Chandrashekarappa, MD
Soo Kim, MD
David I. Kinsman, MD
Ilene C. Lewis, MD
Bin Pan, PhD
Stacy Peterson, MD
Magnolia C. Printz, MD

New Instructors

Craig E. Cummings, MD
Lonnie E. Dye III, MD
Martin Samborski, MD
Juan L. Vega, MD

Long-Term Faculty Service

Charul A. Munshi, MD - 40 yrs.
Thomas A. Stekiel, MD - 25 yrs.
Harvey J. Woehlck, MD - 25 yrs.
Rebecca C. Anderson, PhD - 20 yrs.
Wai-Meng Kwok, PhD - 20 yrs.
Lynn M. Rusy, MD - 20 yrs.

Primary Investigators of New
Extramural Awards to MCW $100,000+

Xiaowen Bai, PhD
Quinn H. Hogan, MD
Edward J. Zuperku, PhD

In Memoriam

Anna Stadnicka, PhD

I am looking for...



Upcoming Events...

Meir Chernofsky, MD
Visiting Professor Lecture

"Professionalism Workshop"
Thursday, October 2, 2014
CHW Auditorium, 4:30 p.m

Meir Chernofsky, MD
Visiting Professor Lecture

"Assessing & Teaching Professionalism in the Milestones Era"
Friday, October 3, 2014
Helfaer Auditorium, 6:30 a.m

MOCA Simulation Courses
September 27, 2014
November 15, 2014

20th Annual Anesthesia Topics in the Tropics
January 19 & 23, 2015
Royal Caribbean Cruise Lines
Splendour of the Seas

Anesthesiology now on Facebook

If you're interested, please become a fan of MCW Anesthesiology.

Application accepted as host institution

The Medical College of Wisconsin's application has been accepted as a host institution for the 2013 FAER Medical Student Anesthesia Research Fellowship Program.
© 2014 Medical College of Wisconsin
Page Updated 09/10/2014