GettyImages-932533514-hero

Cancer Center

Clinical Trials Office Leadership

James Thomas, MD, PhD

Associate Director of Translational Research and CTO Medical Directorjim-thomas

jpthomas@mcw.edu

A gastrointestinal medical oncologist, Dr. Thomas has served as CTO medical director since its 2012 inception. Prior to this appointment, he served as medical director for the Ohio State Comprehensive Cancer Center CTO. At the Medical College of Wisconsin, he is responsible for the integration and translation of basic science research into the clinic and clinical research into the community. He ensures that personnel at every level carry out robust policies, procedures and best practices related to clinical trials.

"As a physician, I want to offer my patients the best options possible. As a cancer redox biology scientist, I seek to answer scientific questions to better understand cancer and make regimens less toxic and more effective. This, in essence, is what we all do each day. Using rigorous science, we continually improve treatments and enhance the lives of our patients." 

Betty Oleson, BSN, RN, CCRP

CTO Administrative Director

boleson@mcw.edu

Betty Oleson provides overall management of the adult CTO, including budget, resource projections and quality control functions, assessing staff performance and compliance with good clinical trials practices. She supervises all clinical research managers and teams, including regulatory and education and quality assurance.

"It is a great pleasure to build and to continue to enhance our CTO infrastructure so we can offer our patients the newest cancer therapy options. I am so proud of our top-notch team, which is committed to excellence. Staff are truly dedicated to their patients, with whom they have the privilege of working at a critical life juncture." 

CTO Team Managers

Budget and Finance

Brenda Brito, BS BA
Senior Financial Planning Strategist
bbrito@mcw.edu | (414) 805-8268

Training, Education and Quality Assurance

Rebecca Selle, BS, CCRP
Education/Quality Assurance Manager
rselle@mcw.edu | (414) 805-8748

Bone Marrow Transplant and Cell Therapy

Debra Pastorek, MS, RN, CCRC
BMT and Cell Therapy Clinical Research Manager
dpastore@mcw.edu | (414) 805-6837

 

Breast Team

Maria Pigsley, RN, CCRP
Breast Team Clinical Research Manager
mpigsley@mcw.edu | (414) 805-0791

 

Central Nervous System, Skin, Head/Neck, Sarcoma, Thoracic

Gerard Coly
Solid Tumor Clinical Research Manager
gcoly@mcw.edu | (414) 805-4380

Pediatric Cancer Clinical Trials 

MACC Fund Center for Cancer and Blood Disorders Clinical Trials Office
(414) 955-4727

Learn more

Early Phase Team

Katy Schroeder, RN, OCN, CCRP
Early Phase Clinical Research Manager
kbschroeder@mcw.edu | (414) 805-8843


Gastrointestinal, Genitourinary Team

Stacey Zindars, MD, CCRP
GI/GI Team Clinical Research Manager
szindars@mcw.edu | (414) 805-8913


Gynecology

Sukanya Skandarajah, BSc, CCRP
GYN Clinical Research Manager
sskandarajah@mcw.edu | (414) 805-5337

 

Hematology

Paulette Jacobs, BS, MS, CCRP 
Hematology Clinical Research Manager
pjacobs@mcw.edu | (414) 805-4594

 

Regulatory Team

Bruce W Steinert
Research Regulatory Manager
bsteinart@mcw.edu | (414) 805-4196

 

Outreach/Affiliate Sites

Nedra Johnson, BSN, RN, CCRP
Clinical Research Nurse, Affiliate Sites
njohnson@mcw.edu 

CTO Managers