MCW Cancer Center Board

The MCW Cancer Center Board helps to raise awareness of the MCW Cancer Center and private funding for research. The Board includes top business, professional and civic leaders. The money they contribute and raise is more important than ever before as competition increases for federal grant support.

The fund-raising efforts of Advisory Board members have supported:

  • Seed funding, which allows researchers to develop a track record to compete for and leverage long-term federal funds. Seed funds have led to and will continue to lead to larger federal or private agency grants that have the potential to result in breakthrough treatments and cures for disease.
  • Bridge funding for researchers while they renew grants.
  • Fellowships for research or clinical training.
  • Professorships
  • Purchase of research equipment.


Richard L. Schmidt, Jr.
President & CEO
CG Schmidt

Past Chair

Arlene Lee
Community Leader

Founding Co-Chairs

 †  Melodie Wilson Oldenburg 
 †  Frank J. Pelisek

Ginny Bolger
Community Leader

Therese D. Burkhart
Community Leader

Susan Donovan
Community Leader

Brian Ellenbecker
VP Senior Financial Planner

David Ellenbecker
Independent Insurance Agent
Kirchen Insurance

Elizabeth (Lili) Friedman
Community Leader

W. Scott Gray
Retired Senior Vice President
Robert W. Baird & Co.

Leila Hanson
CPR RsQ Assist, Inc.

Kadie Jelenchick
Foley & Larder LLP

Geneva B. Johnson
Community Leader

Missy Webster Levit
Community Leader

Joan Lubar
Community Leader

P. Michael Mahoney
Park Bank

William J. Mulligan
Davis & Kuelthau, S.C.

Susan (Sue) Northey
Branding Breakthroughs

Morgan Oldenburg
Non-profit Youth Director

Laura Peck
Riverwater Partners

Linda Rieke, CPA, CFP
Community Leader

Kathy Schwab
Senior Director of Marketing
Milwaukee Brewers Baseball Club

Don Shane
Community Leader

Ed Stein
President, Rock River Cancer Research Foundation
President, Four Star Beauty Supply

Joan S. Stein
Community Leader

W. Kent Velde
Lakeview Equity Partners, LLC

Cathy White
Community Leader

Diane Zore
Community Leader


Ming You, MD, PhD

Emeritus Director

J. Frank Wilson, MD
Chairman, Radiation Oncology

Emeritus Members

Christine Hamilton Foote
Ann Ellis Heil
Gwen T. Jackson
Randolph T. Myricks
Melodie Wilson Oldenburg
Philip W. Orth
Richard Van Deuren

† Deceased