Cancer Center Leadership


Gustavo Leone Headshot_Newsroom

Gustavo Leone, PhD

Dr. Leone received his Bachelor of Science degree in biochemistry from the University of Calgary (Calgary, Canada)in 1988 and his PhD in virology from the University of Calgary in 1994. During his time as a postdoctoral fellow at the Duke University Medical Center, Dr. Leone received the Robert M. and Barbara R. Bell Basic Science of Cancer award for his outstanding research discoveries.

Throughout his career, Dr. Leone has focused his research on identifying how disruption of critical cell cycle regulatory pathways contributes to uncontrolled cell growth – a hallmark of cancer – as well as cell-to-cell communication. His work has been continuously funded by the National Institutes of Health (NIH) since 1999, including almost $3 million in current NIH funding.

Dr. Leone has been a member of and served on the boards of various national and international societies, including the American Association of Cancer Research, scientific advisory board for the Ludwig Boltzmann Institute, and co-chair of the 1st Great Lakes Breast Cancer Symposium and Second Great Lakes Breast Cancer Symposium.

Helping to direct the science at the MCW Cancer Center are ten Associate Directors (the Directors' Council); an Executive Committee; and thirteen Faculty Research Committees that focus on disease-specific clinical research and external, internal, philanthropic leadership and community advisory boards. This structure effectively promotes collaborative scientific interactions within the institution, with external partners and throughout the community. 

Leadership Team

Medical College of Wisconsin Cancer Center Leadership