Pathology Residency Program
Medical Education Building, MCW

Myron Schuster, M.D. Residents Award

The Myron Schuster, M.D. Award was created by Drs. Richard and Lawrence Schuster and their family, to honor the memory of their parent, Dr. Myron Schuster. Dr. Myron Schuster graduated from Marquette Medical School in 1941 and trained as a pathologist at the Milwaukee County Hospital. He then served as the Chief of Pathology at St. Mary’s Hospital in Racine, WI, for 44 years prior to retirement. He was a clinical faculty member of the Department of Pathology at Marquette/MCW and taught anatomy at the Medical College of Wisconsin after his retirement.

The award was created to recognize a promising and high-achieving resident in pathology at the Medical College of Wisconsin. The awardee is selected by the Chair of the Department and the Residency Director, in consultation with the members of the Residency Committee. The awardee is expected to exhibit an exemplary professional demeanor so as to be a credit to the discipline, the institution, and Dr. Myron Schuster. A cash award and a framed certificate are presented during the formal annual Pathology Residents Graduation Dinner. The first award was given in 2011.

Previous Recipients

  • Oleksandr Kravtsov, MD | 2018-2019
  • Shira Ronen, MD | 2017-2018
  • Amanda Hopp, MD | 2016-2017
  • Nicholas Harding-Jackson, MD | 2015-2016
  • Lauren Parsons, MD | 2014-2015
  • Maria Hintzke, MD | 2013-2014
  • Neil Anderson, MD | 2011-2012
  • Christopher Cogbill, MD | 2010-2011