Staff Collaborate Conference Room

Caitlin O'Meara, PhD

Caitlin O'Meara, PhD

Caitlin O'Meara, PhD

Assistant Professor

Locations

  • Cardiovascular Center

Contact Information

Education

PhD, Medical College of Wisconsin, 2011
Postdoctoral Training, Harvard Medical School, 2016

Research Interests

Higher organisms such as zebrafish and neonatal mice are capable of complete heart regeneration following partial amputation. Although adult humans and adult mice lack this regeneration response, there is great interest in understanding how heart regeneration can occur in lower organisms so that we can activate this process in humans to better treat patients following myocardial infarction. My lab is interested in understanding the cell biology and molecular pathways that facilitate heart regeneration and cardiomyocyte cell cycle activity. Factors that we find to mediate cardiac regeneration in zebrafish or neonatal mice are then tested in adult non-regenerative mammalian models to identify potential therapeutic targets for promoting cardiac healing.

Publications

O'Meara Lab Staff

headshot

Santiago Alvarez, MD

Graduate Student

salvarez@mcw.edu

My research interest focuses on cardiac recovering, tissue remodeling and heart failure development after acute cardiac injury, looking particularly at the role of interleukin 4 and 13 in cardiac macrophages in promoting cardiac regeneration and improving outcome.

headshot

Sydney Buday

Research Tech

sbuday@mcw.edu

headshot

Michael Flinn, PhD

Postdoctoral Fellow

mflinn@mcw.edu

Current Institution: Medical College of Wisconsin

headshot

Makenna Knas

Research Tech

mknas@mcw.edu

headshot

Jerrell Lovett

Graduate Student

jlovett@mcw.edu

I have a passion for studying integrative physiology, muscle physiology, immunology, and various pathologies.

headshot

Kelsey Wackman

Research Tech

kwackman@mcw.edu