Research Collaborate Lab Bench


Faculty, staff, and engineering expertise is available in the application of EPR spectroscopy to structural biology, biological free radicals, metalloproteins, high pressure studies, and technology development. The equipment and resources offered at the National Biomedical EPR Center are detailed below. 

EPR Spectrometers

Bruker ELEXSYS EPR Spectrometer Systems (2)
Special Features
Super X bridge, high dynamic range (90 dB), X-band, 10-inch magnet, Super Hi-Q resonator, ER 4103TM cylindrical resonator, ER 4116DM dual-mode TE102/TE012 resonator ER 4117D-R dielectric resonator, ER 4117D-M dielectric mixing resonator, ER 4119HS-WI high-sensitivity optical resonator, and liquid nitrogen cryostat. One of the ELEXSYS spectrometers is equipped with field frequency lock, helium cryostat, Bruker DICE ENDOR with ENH01252 cavity, A300 RF power amplifier (0.3–35 MHz), and 3100L RF power amplifier (250 kHz–105 MHz). Bruker E-600 series W-band CW-EPR (including W-band cylindrical resonator, W-band bridge, superconducting magnet, room temperature sweep coils, and cryostat).

Bruker ELEXSYS 580 Pulsed Spectrometer
Special Features
Pulse X-band spectrometer and Q-band with DEER, DQC, and ENDOR capabilities at cryogenic temperatures.

To measure long-range distances between paramagnetic probes and/or coupled nuclei within biomedically relevant proteins and peptides.

Bruker EMX Spectrometer
Special Features
Standard high-quality X-band research instrument.

Photoexcited paramagnetic states; spin-label studies; spin-label studies of cellular membrane fluidity and oxygen uptake.

Time-Domain ESR Spectrometer at 9 GHz with 9-inch Magnet
Special Features
Saturation recovery capability to 0.1 µs; very high-speed data acquisition system.

Measurement of T1 of spin labels; measurement of transient response of spin systems to various excitations.

Low-Frequency EPR Spectrometer Station
Special Features
CW and NARS spectroscopy at 0.5–1 GHz, 1–2 GHz, 2–4 GHz, and 4–8 GHz at temperatures down to 15–20 K.

Transition metal EPR studies, protein distance measurements.

Varian E-9 EPR Multifrequency Spectrometer
Special Features
0.5–1 GHz bridge; L-band 1-2 GHz bridge; S-band 2–4 GHz bridge; C-band 4–8 GHz bridge; K-band 18 GHz bridge; Q-band 35 GHz bridge; various loop-gap resonators; liquid helium cooling at all of the above frequencies (down to 15–20 K).

Transition metal EPR; forbidden transitions; in vivo studies on mice; study of very small samples at 35 GHz.

Varian E-109 Century Series EPR Spectrometers
Special Features
Field-frequency locks; photomodulation from dc to 5 kHz; saturation transfer spectroscopy; excellent sensitivity; loop-gap resonators.

EPR of free radicals in solution; EPR of metal complexes in frozen solution; photoexcited paramagnetic states; spin-label studies; spin-label studies of cellular membrane fluidity and oxygen uptake.

Modified Varian E-110 Q-Band (35 GHz) Spectrometer Station
Special Features
High sensitivity, low phase noise Q-band microwave bridge on a varian-based console and magnet system.

Multiquantum Q-Band Spectrometer with 10-inch Bruker Magnet
Special Features
Multiquantum and saturation recovery spectroscopy at 35 GHz.

Resolution of multiple spectral components that arise from conformational equilibria.

W-Band Spectrometer
Special Features
92.5–95.5 GHz CW and saturation recovery spectrometer. Can measure T1s to 200 ns.

Specialized for use with room-temperature liquid-phase aqueous samples.

Machine Shop Equipment

Dyna Myte 3000 H CNC lathe; three- and four-jaw chucks; 5C collet chuck; downloading program adapter; CNC Automation M3X controller software

Autodesk CNC Feature CAM software

12-inch manual Jet lathe; three- and four-jaw chucks; 5C collet chuck; 5C collets; three-jaw tailstock rotating chuck with Morse Taper Shank; Tapaz readout

10-inch manual Clausing lathe; three- and four-jaw chucks; 3C collets; Acu-Rite TurnMate readout

Levin variable-speed jewelers lathe with collet set

Bridgeport retrofit four-axis CNC Mill; CNC Automation M3X controller; CNC 12-inch forth axis turntable; 8-inch Kurt vice

Bridgeport manual milling machine, 6-inch vice, and collet set; 12-inch manual turntable; 6-inch manual holding chuck; Acu-Rite MillMate readout

Enco manual milling machine and collet set; Kurt 6-inch vice and MillMate readout

Servo 6-inch jewelers milling machine; collet set; 4-inch Servo vice

Finn Speedex 360 indexing fixture; 5C collet adaptor; 5C 3-inch chuck adaptor

Delta 6-inch belt sander

Delta 14-inch band saw

Baldor 6-inch Carbide tool grinder

Wilton 15-inch variable-speed drill press; 4-inch adjustable drill press vice

Mitutoyo 12-inch height gauge

Brown & Sharp 1- to 6-inch micrometer set

Starrett gauge block set and pin sets (0.11 to 0.750 diameter)

5C collet set (0.62 to 1.125 diameter) and 332 and 164 sets

Carver laboratory 24-inch press

Finger 36-inch brake 16-guage capacity

Di-Acro Houdaille 16-gauge capacity hand sheer

Electronic Equipment

Agilent E5505A Phase Noise Measurement System

Agilent N5242A PNA-X Network Analyzer (heads to 240 GHz)

Agilent E8363C PNA Network Analyzer (50 MHZ to 40 GHz)

Agilent N9030A PXA Signal Analyzer (3 Hz–44 GHz)

Agilent Spectrum Analyzers to 100 GHz

Agilent Microwave Power Meters to 100 GHz

Frequency Counters to 40 GHz

Agilent DSO9404 Digitizing Oscilloscope to 40 GSPS

Analog oscilloscopes to 400 MHz

Pulse, delay, and signal generators


Agilent Advance Design System for microwave circuit design, simulation, and layout

Ansys High-Frequency Structure Simulator (HFSS) for design of loop-gap resonators and modeling RF field distributions

Ansys Maxwell 3D to solve electromagnetic problems by finite-element analysis