Digestive Disease Center

The vision of the Medical College of Wisconsin's Digestive Disease Center is to achieve international scientific and lay recognition for leading edge digestive disease research, treatment and educational programs emphasizing novel state-of-the art therapies.

The Center’s goal is to eradicate digestive diseases and their economic impact through research. The unique collaboration of 91 Center physicians, scientists and staff from 14 departments provides a multidisciplinary approach to patient care, research and education in prevention, diagnosis and treatment of digestive diseases.

Collaboration between researchers in the laboratory and physicians in the hospitals and clinics has enhanced the Center’s core programs in:

  • Dysphagia (swallowing disorders)
  • Inflammatory bowel diseases (Crohn’s disease and colitis)
  • Pancreaticobiliary diseases (conditions affecting the pancreas and bile ducts)
  • Hepatology (conditions affecting the liver) and liver transplantation
  • Functional bowel disorders
  • Gastrointestinal cancer surveillance and treatment

Many advances – from groundbreaking diagnostic techniques to drug trials and surgical treatments – have been possible because of the dedication and commitment to excellence by the faculty who are at the heart of the Center.

2018 Digestive Disease Center Application now available!

The Medical College of Wisconsin’s Digestive Disease Center (DDC) is accepting grant applications for fiscal year 2018.

Download the 2018 Digestive Disease Application (DOCX)

This Funding Opportunity Announcement issued by the DDC invites submission of investigator-initiated research grants that support original research on digestive diseases, including upper gut motility and acid related diseases, inflammatory bowel diseases, pancreaticobiliary diseases, lower gut motility and functional bowel disorders, GI malignancy surveillance and treatments, and hepatology and liver transplantation. Principal Investigators must be full-time members of the Medical College of Wisconsin faculty and only one proposal may be submitted per Principal Investigator.

Digestive Disease Center Board

Paul J. Siepmann

Founding Chair
† Robert H. Friebert


  • Ruth Brash
  • Mary Brown
  • Dan Burkwald
  • David Dauchy
  • Scott Drees
  • Karin Gale
  • Laura Gralton
  • Mike Groth
  • Linda Grunau
  • Doris Heiser
  • Madeline Henry
  • Neil Keller
  • Jan Lennon
  • Joyce Myers
  • Tami O'Brien
  • David Raysich
  • Karen A. Trimble
  • Bryan Waltersdorf
  • Carol Wuesthoff
  • Erika Zaiser

Emeritus Members

  • Morry L. Birnbaum
  • Barbara K. Boxer
  • Douglas S. Levy
  • Barbara B. Zaiser


  • Reza Shaker, MD
  • Manu Sood, MBBS

† deceased