Welcome to the Department of Radiology

The Medical College of Wisconsin's Department of Radiology brings together nationally recognized physicians and scientists, state-of-the-art equipment and patient care programs at affiliated, tertiary level care teaching hospitals on a regional medical center campus.

Vincent P. Mathews, MD, Chair of RadiologyVincent P. Mathews, MD

Chair, Department of Radiology
James E. Youker, MD, Professor in Radiology

Welcome to the Department of Radiology at the Medical College of Wisconsin. The department is undergoing significant change in our clinical practice.

The Section of Emergency Radiology was developed and began providing overnight in-house faculty radiology coverage on October 1, 2016. Dr. Dhiraj Baruah led the organization and development of this section, which is necessary for the department to consider other growth opportunities. On July 1, 2017, MCW began providing radiology services for the entire Froedtert Health enterprise, which includes new practice locations at Community Memorial Hospital, St. Joseph Hospital West Bend, and several Community Physician clinics including a large clinic at the West Bend Health Center.

Dr. Darren O’Neill, previously Section Chief of Neuroradiology at Indiana University, joined MCW in February 2017 and assumed responsibility as Medical Director for the Community Hospital Division. Additionally, Dr. Ross Cerniglia's role has expanded to include Medical Director of the Community Physician locations. Drs. O'Neill and Cerniglia led transition preparations and worked with the Section Chiefs ensuring our ability to provide the highest level of subspecialty radiology care throughout the health system. Dr. Stacy O’Connor and Dr. Parag Tolat are the physician leaders who guided the information technology advancements required for this expansion. Learn more


The MCW Department of Radiology will provide the highest quality, cutting edge, patient centered diagnostic and interventional services, perform internationally recognized research to advance patient care, and educate excellent clinicians and radiologists.


The MCW Department of Radiology will be a leading patient care provider of diagnostic and interventional services. We will:

  • Deliver high quality, value-added, subspecialty clinical care.
  • Develop and advance basic science, translational and clinical research.
  • Provide outstanding training programs and become a destination of educational excellence.


September 2017
August 2017
  • Tadanori Mammoto, MD, PhD, received a research grant from the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services National Institute on Aging in the amount of $231,000. Congratulations, Dr. Mammoto!
  • MCW’s annual influenza vaccination program will run Sep 25 - Nov 3. Vaccinations will no longer be offered through the radiology department. Flu shot clinics will be established at each site and employees or students are encouraged to attend. A full list is available at Froedtert & MCW Internal Occupational Health. Please remember that vaccinations are a mandatory for MCW employees.
July 2017
June 2017
  • Research paper "Site-Selective Delivery of Novel Trimodal Optical/MR/X-ray Contrast Bearing Photothermal Nanoconstructs Increases Uptake in Colorectal Liver Metastasis Tumors," co-authored by Amit Joshi, PhD, received top recognition at the WCIO 2017 Annual Conference in Boston, MA.

Read All Announcements...

Radiology Newsletters

Summer 2017
Newsletter Summer 2017
Spring 2016

MCW Radiology Spring 2016 Newsletter

Summer 2015

MCW Radiology Newsletter Summer 2015

Summer 2014

MCW Radiology Newsletter Summer 2014