Physicians Collaborate Whiteboard

About the MCW Neuroscience Research Center

Our Mission

The goals of the Neuroscience Research Center are to enhance basic and translational neuroscience at MCW through the development of an MCW-wide programmatic plan for neuroscience research. Through added strength in neuroscience research, MCW will enhance and differentiate clinical care at MCW and its affiliates. The Neuroscience Research Center will seek to become well-integrated with MCW departments and other centers, particularly the Center for Imaging Research, and with neuroscientists at other institutions in Milwaukee.

The Neuroscience Research Center facilitates the research endeavors of these faculty by providing:

  • Opportunities for meeting and interacting with other neuroscientists
  • Administrative support for the development of multi-investigator grants and for the identification of potential collaborators
  • Access and training to a rodent behavior core
  • Research mentoring for junior faculty, particularly those in clinical departments

Areas of neuroscience research strength at MCW include:

  • Synaptic plasticity
  • Mechanisms of neurodegeneration
  • Consequences of neurotrauma
  • Neuroprotective strategies
  • Mechanisms of drug addiction
  • Vision, from the retina to the visual cortex
  • Pain pathways and mediators
  • CNS regulation of cardiovascular and respiratory function
  • Human cognition
  • Consciousness and anesthetic action
  • Neurodevelopment

Neuroscience Research Center Board

Benjamin Wagner

Founding Chairs
T. Michael Bolger, JD*
James M. Holcomb

Board Members

  • Tammy Bamlett
  • Helen Bechthold
  • John Bosbous
  • Kimberly Brennan
  • Mary Brennan-Druml
  • Steven Carlson
  • Richard Cosentino
  • Al Costigan
  • Brian D. Eckrose
  • Brian Fred-Fitzsimmons, MD
  • Ann K. Helms, MD, MS
  • James M. Holcomb
  • Eugene T. Jacobus
  • Sharon Kailas
  • Julie Kerr
  • Shekar Kurpad, MD, PhD
  • France Lavin
  • Jon Lehrmann, MD
  • Jan Lennon
  • Warren Pierson
  • George Prescott
  • Bryon Riesch
  • John Selix
  • Bonnie Timarac
  • Kay Yuspeh

Cecilia Hillard, PhD

Associate Director
Michael Lawlor, MD, PhD



Contact Us

The Medical College of Wisconsin – Neuroscience Research Center is located within the Translational Biomedical Research Center (TBRC) of MCW.

Neuroscience Research Center
Medical College of Wisconsin
Neuroscience Research Center
8701 Watertown Plank Rd.
TBRC C1820
Milwaukee, WI 53226

Blair Stauffer-Fetting
Department Administrator
(414) 955-8744

Erik Van Newenhizen
Business Operations Coordinator
(414) 955-2260
Neuroscience Research Center Google map location