Physicians Hall Front

Dr. Ian B.K. Martin Named 2019–2020 President of the Society for Academic Emergency Medicine

LAS VEGAS —The Society for Academic Emergency Medicine (SAEM) at the opening session of its 30th annual meeting on Wednesday, May 15, introduced Ian B.K. Martin, MD, MBA, as the society’s 2019–2020 president and announced five newly elected members to its Board of Directors.

Dr. Martin is professor and system chair of the Department of Emergency Medicine and professor of medicine at the Medical College of Wisconsin (MCW). Previously Dr. Martin served as professor and chair of emergency medicine at the West Virginia University (WVU) School of Medicine.

Ian Martin Image

Dr. Martin earned his undergraduate degree from Duke University, MD from Medical College of Pennsylvania–Hahnemann School of Medicine in Philadelphia, and MBA from the University of North Carolina (UNC) Kenan–Flagler Business School. He trained in emergency medicine and internal medicine and eventually served as chief resident at the University of Maryland Medical Center/R. Adams Cowley Shock Trauma Center in Baltimore.

Dr. Martin has devoted his academic career to improving the delivery of emergency care globally through program development, investigative research, and direct clinical care. His research interests include elucidation of optimal models for emergency department-based HIV and hepatitis C testing and acute care disease burden epidemiology in developing countries.

Dr. Martin served previously as a president-elect, secretary-treasurer, and an at-large member of the Society’s Board of Directors. He is a founder and past-president of SAEM’s Global Emergency Medicine Academy. Dr. Martin is the 2018 recipient of the Marcus L. Martin, MD Leadership Award — the highest honor given by SAEM’s Academy of Diversity and Inclusion in Emergency Medicine.

“I am grateful for the trust members of the society placed in me in my election as their 31st president. Like so many others, SAEM has played an integral role in my professional and leadership development. As president, I look forward to faithfully executing key strategic initiatives, to include an expansion of education research career development opportunities; development and implementation of tactics aimed at assuring greater diversity and inclusion at all leadership levels in the society; and identification of strategic partnerships in an effort to further advance the society’s agenda,” said Dr. Martin.

Dr. Martin succeeds Steven B. Bird, MD, University of Massachusetts Medical School, SAEM’s 2018–2019 president, who became the society’s immediate past president.

The newly elected SAEM Board Members are:

  • President-Elect, James F. Holmes, Jr., MD, MPH, University of California Davis Health System
  • Secretary-Treasurer, Amy H. Kaji, MD, PhD, Harbor-UCLA Medical Center
  • Members-at-Large Christopher R. Carpenter, MD, MSc, Washington University in St. Louis School of Medicine and Michelle D. Lall, MD, Emory University
  • Resident Member, Stephen C. Dorner, MD, MPH, MSS, Massachusetts General Hospital, Brigham and Women’s Hospital 

View the full slate of SAEM board members for 2019–2020.

The 2019–2020 SAEM Board of Directors demonstrate leadership in emergency medicine education, practice, research and administration. SAEM Board members are elected by the membership. The Board of Directors is responsible for establishing the organization’s mission, purpose, values and direction. The Board also oversees the association’s strategic planning, evaluation, programs, services and utilization of resources.

MCW Media Contacts

The media relations team at MCW is happy to assist in coordinating experts for interviews. Please reach out to us at:
(414) 955-8761
Contact us

Contact Location Lab Photo