Research Collaborate Lab Bench

Office of Research

Administrative Leadership


Ann B. Nattinger, MD, MPH

Associate Provost for Research; Senior Associate Dean for Research, School of Medicine; Professor of Medicine, Lady Riders Professor of Breast Cancer Research

Dr. Nattinger was named Senior Associate Dean for Research for the School of Medicine in October 2015, a role which has now expanded to Associate Provost for Research. Previously, she served as Division Chief of General Internal Medicine for 15 years. She also founded the Center for Patient Care and Outcomes Research in 2001, now known as CAPS, and served as Center Director for 16 years. She is a nationally recognized cancer health services researcher, focusing on breast cancer treatment, survivorship and outcomes.


Cecilia J. Hillard, PhD

Associate Dean for Research; Professor; Director, Neuroscience Research Center

Dr. Hillard was named Associate Dean for Research in November 2015 after serving eight months as co-Interim Senior Associate Dean for Research. She has served as director of the Neuroscience Research Center since its inception in 2010. She was also Inaugural Director of the Neuroscience Graduate Training Program from 1996-2010. As a highly active researcher, Dr. Hillard’s laboratory is primarily focused on the pharmacology and biochemistry of the cannabinoids and endocannabinoids.


Marja T. Nevalainen, MD, PhD

Professor, Eminent Scholar Department of Pathology and Pharmacology & Toxicology Assistant Dean of Research, Medical College of Wisconsin Associate Director (Education), Medical College of Wisconsin Cancer Center Director, Prostate Cancer Center of Excellence, Medical College of Wisconsin Cancer Center

Dr. Nevalainen is an internationally recognized leader in the field of cytokine and steroid hormone signaling in prostate cancer. Dr. Nevalainen holds the title of Eminent Scholar at MCW. She is also Director of Prostate Cancer Center of Excellence at MCW Cancer Center, which is a multi-disciplinary hub for prostate cancer research within the institution with an international collaborative network. She also serves as Associate Director of Education for the MCW Cancer Center.


Lisa R. Henk, MS

Chief Administrator for Research Operations

Lisa Henk joined the Office of Research leadership team in January, 2016 as Chief Administrator for Research Operations. Prior to this appointment, Lisa served a dual role as Administrator for the Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology and the Neurosciences Research Center for four years. She also served as Interim Business Administrator for the Human and Molecular Genetics Center for much of 2015. Since 2008, Lisa has been an important leader in Basic Science Administration at MCW. In her role as Chief Administrator, Lisa provides operational leadership for Office of Research functions.

Unit Leadership


April A. Haverty, MPE, JD

Director, Grants & Contracts Office


David Clark, PhD

Professor; Director, Human Research Protection Program


Deborah Scott, PhD

Enterprise Research Applications Manager


Ellen Sayed, MLS, MAcc, AHIP

Director, MCW Libraries


Joseph D. Thulin, DVM, MS, DACLAM

Associate Professor; Director, Biomedical Resource Center


Kevin Boggs, MBA, PhD

Director, Office of Technology Development


Sandra L. Jensen, MS, RLATG, CPIA

Institutional Animal Care & Use Committee and Safety Committees Manager


Todd Senglaub, MPH

Radiation Safety Officer