Research Collaborate Lab Bench

Office of Research

Society for Research Excellence

To foster, promote, and recognize excellence across MCW in all types of research and discovery. 

About the Society

sremedalliononwhiteThe Office of Research is pleased to host the MCW Society for Research Excellence, a collective of select MCW faculty with a demonstrated commitment to discovery, mentorship, leadership, and advancement in research. New members are elected each year and announced at the fall Convocation ceremony. 

Members of the SRE are characterized by such experience as:

  • Sustained research leadership leading to high impact discoveries or findings
  • History of serving as an effective mentor for trainees and/or junior faculty
  • National recognition for research, such as high visibility publications, national or international leadership roles, and/or receipt of awards
  • MCW full time or full professional effort appointment for at least 5 years

Current Members


Allen W. Cowley, Jr., PhD

Chair and James J. Smith & Catherine Welsch Smith Professor of Physiology; Harry & Gertrude Hack Term Professorship in Physiology; Interim Director, Human and Molecular Genetics Center


Balaraman Kalyanaraman, PhD

Professor and Chair; Harry R. & Angeline E. Quadracci Professor in Parkinson’s Research; Founder, Free Radical Research Center


Roy Silverstein, MD

Professor and Chair of Medicine