Students Classroom

Office of Postdoctoral Education

Office of Postdoctoral Education Annual Awards

Excellence in Science Award

The Office of Postdoctoral Education and the Postdoctoral Advisory Committee initiated this award in 2010. The award recipient will receive recognition and a $1,000 prize (to spend at their discretion).

Past Recipients of the Excellence in Science Award

2021 – Jennifer Stancill
2020 – Christine Klemens
2019 – Chen Chen
2018 – Katelyn Sadler
2017 – Daniel Bretl
2016 – Pui Kei Wu
2015 – Louise Evans
2014 – Jeremy Wood
2013 – Brian Hoffman

Applications open: 11/3/20
Due: 11/23/20

Excellence in Science Award Application (DOCX)

Professional Development Award

Awardees will be determined through a peer review process. Ten awards will be given out twice a year, in the spring and fall. Reimbursement of registration fees/travel expenses will be awarded up to $250. This will be provided in accordance with MCW Travel policy.

Who should apply? Those who have done the below, or plan to soon:

  • Attend a virtual conference (for science, networking or career development)
  • Take an on-line course (for science or career or professional development)
  • Learn a new technique, skill, or line of research

To apply, fill out the application and submit a letter of support from your PI/mentor to

Applications open: 3/9/22
Due: By 5:00 pm on 4/1/22

Postdoctoral Professional Development Award (DOCX)

Past Recipients of the Professional Development Award

Fall 2021

  • Ryan Adam
  • Kirthikaa Balapattabi
  • Luisa Bohorquez
  • Wen Da
  • Gaurav Kumar
  • Barbara Palkovic
  • Nikola Sekulovski
  • Ziyu Zhang
  • Jue Zhang

Spring 2021

  • Ryan Adam, Physiology
  • Michael Brehler, Radiology
  • Evgenii Chulkov, CBNA
  • Kathryn Hendee, Neonatology
  • Rachel Jones Lipinski, Biochemistry
  • Haidy Nasief, Radiation Oncology
  • Barbara Palkovic, Anesthesiology
  • Guru Prasad Sharma, Radiation Oncology
  • Emily Welby, CBNA
  • Ya Zhuo, Biochemistry

Fall 2019

  • Heather Ashwood, Versiti
  • Michael Brehler, Radiology
  • Anjali Geethadevi, OBGYN
  • Jasmine George, OBGYN
  • Timothy Keiper, Radiation Oncology
  • Pablo Nakagawa, Physiology
  • Haidy Nasief, Radiation Oncology
  • David Payne, Microbiology & Immunology
  • Katelyn Sadler, CBNA

Spring 2019

  • Daniel Bretl, Microbiology & Immunology
  • John Henry Dasinger, Physiology
  • Savo Bou Zein Eddine, Surgery
  • William Highes, Medicine Cardiovascular Center
  • Christine Klemens, Physiology
  • Katie Litts, Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences
  • Francie Moehring, CBNA
  • Sima Namin, Institute for Health and Equity
  • Nicolas Pelisch, Neurosurgery
  • Saravanan Subramaniam, Versiti Blood Research Institute
  • Xinrui Wang, Pharmacology and Toxicology

Fall 2018

  • Jennifer Stancill, Biochemistry
  • Kerri Becktell, Pediatric Hematology/Oncology
  • Luisa Fernanda Bohorquez Montoya, Neurosurgery
  • Justine Abais Battad, Physiology
  • Shahram Eisa-Beygi, Radiology
  • Megan Slaker, Pharmacology/Toxicology
  • Dustin Martin, Pediatric Surgery
  • Yongwoon Jung, Biomedical Engineering
  • Megan Zarwell, Psychiatry and Behavioral Medicine
  • Vindhya Udhane, Pathology
  • Molly Murphy, Psychiatry, Center for AIDS Intervention Research (CAIR)

Spring 2018

  • Rose Wesche
  • Trung Bao Le
  • Roman Stavniichuk
  • Salvatore Molino
  • Michael Mashock
  • Sherilynn Chan
  • Sunil Kandel
  • Xiaoqing Pan
  • Bandana Singh
  • Emily Siebers
  • Guillermo Urrutia



Edward J. Lennon MD Outstanding Female Postdoctoral Researcher Award

One female postdoc, per year, is recognized as the recipient of this award and receives recognition plus a monetary award of $1000 (to be spent on research).

2021 – Barbara Palkovic



Past recipients of the Edward J. Lennon, MD Outstanding Woman Postdoctoral Researcher Award

2020 – Jennifer Stancill | Department of Biochemistry
2019 – Katelyn Sadler | Cell Biology, Neurobiology and Anatomy; Neurosciences
2018 – Megan Slaker | Pharmacology and Toxicology
2017 – Pan Pan | Medicine
2017 – Karima Ait-Aissa | Medicine
2016 – Stephanie Cossette | Department of Pediatrics, Neonatology
2016 – Justine Abais-Battad | Department of Physiology
2015 – Sushma Kommineni | Department of Microbiology & Molecular Genetics
2014 – Dasha Ilatovskaya, PhD | Department of Physiology
2013 – Savitha Sethumadhavan, PhD | Department of Biophysics
2012 – Anne Diers-Dranka, PhD | Department of Biophysics
2011 – Alison Kriegel, PhD | Department of Physiology

Postdoctoral Paper of the Year

This is a new award created in 2021, and scored based on the significance of the finding to the field, on the contribution of the postdoc to the publication and on the quality of the manuscript. Winners will have recognition and prizes.

Past recipient

2021 -  Punashi Dutta

KPT-330 Prevents Aortic Valve Calcification via a Novel C/EBPβ Signaling Pathway
Punashi Dutta, Karthik M. Kodigepalli, Stephanie LaHaye, J. Will Thompson, Sarah Rains, , Casey Nagel, Kaitlyn Thatcher, Robert B. Hinton, Joy Lincoln

Journal: Circulation Research

Postdoctoral Mentor of the Year

This award is sponsored by the MCW Office of Postdoctoral Education and is given to MCW Faculty who demonstrate excellence in their mentorship of MCW postdocs. Postdocs may nominate their own primary faculty mentor using this application form. Applications will be carefully considered by the MCW Postdoctoral Association Awards Committee, and a winner determined.

Applications open January 14, 2022 and are due by February 18, 2022.

Download postdoc mentor award application (DOCX).

Submit application