U1-Research 2F Microscope Lab-Grad-hero

Public & Community Health Faculty

Kirsten Beyer, PhD, MPH, MS

Kirsten Beyer_Academic Profile

Research Interests: health equity, global health, environmental health/justice, structural racism, racial segregation/housing discrimination, geospatial analysis/GIS, community engaged research, chronic disease

kbeyer@mcw.edu

Rachel Cusatis, PhD, MA

Rachel Cusatis, PhD

Research Interests: patient-reported outcomes, quality of life, social determinants of health, decision making, health disparities, mixed methods, survey design, cancer

rcusatis@mcw.edu

Matthew Dellinger, PhD, MS

Matthew Dellinger, PhD

Research Interests: environmental health, toxicology, risk assessment, Native American partnerships, ecology, epidemiology

mdellinger@mcw.edu

Julia Dickson Gomez, PhD, MA

dickson02-12

Research Interests: housing, homelessness and informal/slum settlements, drug use, HIV, social determinants of health, law and policy, LGBTQ, HCV, cervical cancer

jdickson@mcw.edu

Kathryn Flynn, PhD, MS

Kathryn Flynn_Academic Profile

Research Interests: patient-reported outcome measures, quality of life, sexual health, women’s health, cancer, mixed methods, infertility, patient decision-making

kflynn@mcw.edu

Zeno Franco, PhD

Zeno Franco

Research Interests: mass disaster, crisis events (large and small), veterans’ mental health, heroism (social psychology), information systems, community engagement, sensor-based data collection, mobile mental health

zfranco@mcw.edu

Carol Galletly, JD, PhD, MA

galletlywebpic11-10

Research Interests: law and policy, community empowerment through official systems, immigration law and immigrants, dating violence/intimate partner violence, criminal HV exposure laws, confidentiality/privacy of public health data, drug and alcohol use disorders, grant writing

cgalletl@mcw.edu

Katinka Hooyer, PhD

Katinka-Hooyer

Research Interests: veteran mental health, arts-based research, collective healing practices, psychedelic-assisted therapy, moral injury, trauma, medical anthropology, nontraditional qualitative research

khooyer@mcw.edu

Steven John, PhD, MPH

Steven John

Research Interests: HIV prevention, sexually transmitted diseases, sexual and gender minority health, quantitative methods, mHealth, biomedical prevention, health behavior theory, intervention acceptability

sjohn@mcw.edu

Constance Kostelac, PhD

Constance Kostelac, PhD

Research Interests: violence, drug overdoses, opioids, incident reviews, data (analysis, visualization, mapping), program evaluation, Nexus public health and public safety, community-engaged research

ckostelac@mcw.edu

Purushottam (Prakash) Laud, PhD, MS, MA

Purushottam Laud, PhD

Research Interests: Bayesian Methodology, machine learning, health outcomes in populations, disparities, design of cancer studies, individualized predictions, individualized treatment rules, survival analysis

laud@mcw.edu

John Meurer, MD, MBA

John Meurer, MD, MBA

Research Interests: early childhood development and screening, trauma-informed education of school children, impact of Medicaid expansion on diabetes, Emergency department use with COVID, COVID-19 antibody tests of vulnerable populations

jmeurer@mcw.edu

David Nelson, PhD

David Nelson_Academic Profile

Research Interests: social determinants, primary care, food security, housing stability, community engagement, connectedness, public health, quality of life

danelson@mcw.edu

Alan Nyitray, PhD, MS

Alan Nyitray Headshot March 2019- sized AQM

Research Interests: sexually transmitted infections, anal cancer, epidemiology, HPV, LGBTQ, cancer screening

anyitray@mcw.edu

Katherine Quinn, PhD, MA

Katherine Quinn, PhD

Research Interests: racial disparities in HIV, sexual health, LGBTQ health, qualitative methods and analysis, stigma, housing and homelessness

kaquinn@mcw.edu

Ryan Spellecy, PhD

Ryan Spellecy, PhD

Research Interests: research ethics, ethical issues in mental health, community-based research ethics, character, IRBs, pediatric ethics, genomics and ethics, informed consent

rspellecy@mcw.edu

Rebekah Walker, PhD, MS

Rebekah Walker_ Academic Profile\

Research Interests: social determinants of health, socioeconomic disparities, race/ethnic disparities, food insecurity, diabetes, chronic disease, racism, inner city environment

rebwalker@mcw.edu

Jennifer Walsh, PhD, MA

Jennifer Walsh_Academic Profile

Research Interests: HIV prevention, pre-exposure prophylaxis (PrEP), longitudinal data analysis, adolescent sexual health and risk, social determinants of health, HIV treatment cascade, modern statistical methods, developmental psychology

jwalsh@mcw.edu

Aaron Winn, PhD, MPP

Aaron Winn, PhD

Research Interests: outcome research, causal analysis, medication adherence, health disparities, comparative effectiveness, cost-effectiveness analysis, diffusion of new treatments, conflict of interest

awinn@mcw.edu

Staci Young, PhD, MS

Staci A. Young, PhD

Research Interests: health disparities, women’s health, structural determinants of health, violence, race and racism, organization of (health care) work

syoung@mcw.edu

Terri deRoon-Cassini, PhD, MS

Terri Deroon-Cassini, PhD, MS

Research Interests: trauma, biological mechanisms, violence prevention and intervention, Posttraumatic stress disorder, mental health, secondary prevention, social determinants of health, gun violence

tcassini@mcw.edu

Leonard Egede, MD, MS

Leonard E. Egede, MD, MS

Research Interests: health disparities, racism, health services research, development and testing of interventions, community-based participatory research, implementation science, health systems research

legede@mcw.edu

Stephen Hargarten, MD, MPH

StephenHargarten

Research Interests: advancing injury prevention and control sciences, global burden of violence, gun violence, novel/innovative ways to link data systems to robust understanding of the burden of injury, health care expansion to include behavioral and social care.

hargart@mcw.edu

Cheryl A. Maurana, PhD

Cheryl Maurana_Academic Profile

Research Interests: Women's leadership, population health, community health, systems change, medicine and public health, values in medicine.

cmaurana@mcw.edu

Leslie Ruffalo, PhD

Leslie Ruffalo

Research Interests: food security, school-based health and wellness, caregiver support, mental health, rural health, and Veteran health.

lruffalo@mcw.edu