Physicians Hall Front

Sigmund Wins Prestigious Award Recognizing Excellence in Physiological Research

Milwaukee, Nov. 14, 2022Curt D. Sigmund, PhD, FAPS, James J. Smith & Catherine Welsch Smith Chair of Physiology, chair of the Department of Physiology and associate director of the Cardiovascular Center at the Medical College of Wisconsin (MCW), has received the 2023 Walter B. Cannon Award from the American Physiological Society. The award recognizes the lifetime achievement of an established researcher.

Sigmund will present the virtual 2023 Physiology in Perspective: The Walter B. Cannon Award Lecture titled “A Multigenerational Exploration of the PPARγ-Cullin-3- RhoBTB1 Pathway” on February 23, 2023. This lectureship is the most prestigious award that APS bestows and recognizes the lifetime achievement of an outstanding physiological scientist and APS member. Sigmund is a former member of the APS Council, past chair of the APS Joint Program and Publications committees and past editor-in-chief of the American Journal of Physiology-Regulatory, Integrative and Comparative Physiology.

Physiology is a broad area of scientific inquiry that focuses on how molecules, cells, tissues and organs function in health and disease. The American Physiological Society connects a global, multidisciplinary community of more than 10,000 biomedical scientists and educators as part of its mission to advance scientific discovery, understand life and improve health. The Society drives collaboration and spotlights scientific discoveries through its 16 scholarly journals and programming that support researchers and educators in their work.

MCW Media Contacts

The media relations team at MCW is happy to assist in coordinating experts for interviews. Please reach out to us at:
(414) 955-8764
Contact us

Contact Location Lab Photo