President's Inclusive Excellence Award

Formerly the President’s Diversity and Inclusion Award, the Medical College of Wisconsin's President's Inclusive Excellence Award (PIEA), recognizes innovative and visionary leadership, high impact contributions, and enduring accomplishments of MCW’s faculty, staff, students, and trainees, who advance MCW’s just cause of improving health for all through the pursuit of inclusive excellence.

  • President’s Inclusive Excellence Award committee will receive nominations in four categories:
    • Individual student or student group/team
    • Individual faculty member
    • Individual staff member
    • Department/unit group or team
  • Nominee demonstrates behaviors associated with inclusive leadership and is in good academic, training, or employment standing
  • Nominees should be current MCW students, residents, staff members or faculty members
  • Nominations are welcome from any member of the MCW community. Self-nominations are not accepted.
  • Current faculty and staff of the Office of Diversity and Inclusion are not eligible
  • Awards are welcome from all categories but granted based on the quality of nominations. Thus, not all categories may be awarded annually.

The factors that will be considered by the selection committee will include the following:

  • Significance:
    • The nominee’s contributions demonstrate impact in developing, cultivating, and sustaining equity, diversity, and inclusion with the MCW community.
    • Nominee’s demonstrated leadership in one or more of the following areas Learn to Grow and Innovate, Be Inclusive Leaders at all Levels, Attract and Build a 21st Century knowledge Force, Be an Anchor for and with Our Community, and Demonstrate Impact through Metrics and Measures.
  • Innovation:
    • The nominee’s approach to equity, diversity, and inclusion reflects a novel approach, addresses a complex challenge (“wicked problem”), or advances operational excellence through new processes, tools, or systems
  • Influence
    • The nominees have developed enduring relationships and the ability to foster mutually beneficial action through diverse or multiple stakeholders

Student or Student Group/Team

The nominated student or student group demonstrates behaviors that positively impact the MCW or external community. The contribution can be part of an educational or professional development program or initiative. Student groups are defined as formally recognized groups by the students’ respective school that conduct projects or initiatives with faculty guidance or mentorship. The name of the faculty mentor or sponsor must be included in the nomination.

Faculty and Staff

The nominated faculty or staff demonstrate a record of behaviors that value people, provide inclusive leadership, and drive the MCW inclusive excellence framework through contributions to a healthy and thriving community within a mission area of focus (clinical, educational, research or community engagement) or strategic area (examples: financial, policy and practice, strategic partnerships, operational excellence, compliance).

Department or Unit

The nominated department or unit demonstrate service to the MCW community that cultivates an inclusive work environment. Their actions contribute to increasing workforce or knowledge force diversity, enhancing engagement, or creating a space for belonging, inclusion, and well-being. Contributions that achieve the annual MCW institutional strategic goals are encouraged.

How to Submit the Nomination

Please provide the nomination materials in one email as follows. A single pdf document is preferred.

  1. Letter of nomination of no more than 2 pages double spaced. See Guidelines below
  2. Optional evidence of accomplishment. See nomination guidelines

Please submit nomination materials to diversityinclusion@mcw.edu with the subject line: “PIEA Nomination.”

Nomination Guidelines 

For All Nominations

Provide specific examples of actions and impact and related observable behavior.

PIEA 2022 IE Domain Examples (PDF)

Nomination Guidelines - Student or Student Group

Campus involvement resume detailing campus activities and accomplishments that contribute to equity, diversity, and inclusion at MCW as described in the selection criteria.

Nomination Guidelines - Department or Unit, Faculty or Staff

Please include:

  • A nomination letter not to exceed two pages double spaced that address the selection criteria.
  • Nominations can include up to two additional supporting materials.

Examples of supporting materials include a letter or testimonials from service or program recipients; a paper, report or data indicated influence; media materials documenting the event or activity; or link to new policy or practice.

Timeline and Award Notification
Information to be provided shortly.

Contact Us

Questions? Submit questions regarding the President’s Inclusive Excellence Award to: 

Sharif Mansur 

(414) 955-8015

Office of Diversity and Inclusion