U1-Research 2F Microscope Lab-Grad-hero

Current Students - PhD Program in Physiology

Ammar Alsheikh

MentorDavid L. Mattson, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2015
Previous Education: Alfaisal University, MBBS, Medicine
Research Interest: Mechanisms of hypertension as the biggest risk factor for cardiovascular mortality. In specific investigating the role of immune system in hypertension and potential therapeutic targets.

Thiago Arzua

thiagoarzua-edit

tarzua@mcw.edu
Mentor: Xiaowen Bai, MD, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2016
Previous Education: University of South Florida, Chemistry 
Research Interest: Focus on human stem cells (hESC) derived neuronal models, such as cerebral organoids, and their use in modeling different neurotoxic pathologies. 

Nicholas Burgraff

nicholasburgraff-2

nburgraff@mcw.edu
Mentor: Hubert (Bert) Forster, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2015
Previous Education: University of Wisconsin Green Bay, BS, Human Biology
Research Topic: Mechanisms of Ventilatory and Neural Adaptations to Chronic Hypercapnia

Matthew Dillard

mattdillard-edit

mdillard@mcw.edu
Mentor: Matt Hodges, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2016
Previous Education: Eureka College, BS, Neuroscience. 
Research Interest: My project is focused on investigating “The Role of Neuromodulator Receptors in the Retrotrapezoid Nucleus on the Ventilatory CO2 Chemoreflex” or simply “Neural Control of Breathing”.

Lashodya Dissanayake

lashodyadissanayakejayaweeragaspera 

ldissanayake@mcw.edu
Mentor: Hubert (Bert) Forster, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2017
Previous Education: Voronezh State University (Voronezh, Russia), Pre-University Preparatory Certificate; Kursk State Medical University (Kursk, Russia), MD
Research interest: Understanding how alterations in microRNAs and protein coding genes influence cardiovascular disease, renal disease, and cardiorenal syndromes. 

Daniel Fehrenbach

danielfehrenbach-1

dfehrenbach@mcw.edu
Mentor: David L. Mattson, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2015
Previous Education: UW-Madison BS, Molecular Biology
Research Interest: I am looking into the role the innate immune system plays in the development of salt-sensitive hypertension and chronic kidney disease.

Alicia Ivory

aliciaivory

aivory@mcw.edu
Mentor: Andrew Greene, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2014 (MSTP)
Previous Education: Grambling State University, BS, Biological Science & BA, Psychology
Research Topic: Endothelial progenitor cell mechanisms of blood vessel repair

David Jensen

davidjensen-2

dmjensen@mcw.edu    
Mentor: Mingyu Liang, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2013
Previous Education: University of Wisconsin – Parkside, BS, Biology
Research Topic: The role of miRNA in endothelial dysfunction in hypertension and diabetes.

Sarah Logan

SarahLogan 

sarahlogan@mcw.edu
Mentor: Xiaowen Bai, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2014
Previous Education: Bates College, BS, Biology
Research Topic: Neurodegeneration, neuroplasticity, trauma, early brain development

Anna Manis

AnnaManis

amanis@mcw.edu
Mentors:  Matt Hodges, PhD and Alexander Staruschenko, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2016
Previous Education:  UC Davis, BS, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Research interest:  Ion channels work to maintain homeostasis in the kidney as well as the brain.  I am interested in the effects of disrupting a potassium channel (Kir5.1) with regard to consequences in breathing, seizure activity, and blood pressure control.

Maribel Marquez

maribelmarquez-1

mmarquez@mcw.edu
Mentor: Aron Geurts, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2014
Previous Education: California State Polytechnic University, BS, Microbiology
Research Interest: My research interest is in genome engineering and in using human iPSC-derived Cardiomyocytes as an in vitro model to investigate patient specific gene variants that may be causal to the clinical presentation.

Victoria Nasci

nascivictoria

vnasci@mcw.edu
Mentor: Alison Kriegel, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2016
Previous Education: Marquette University BS in Biological Sciences
Research Topic: Cardio-renal syndrome type 4 and the involvement of microRNA's

Samantha Paddock

 samanthapaddock-3

spaddock@mcw.edu
Mentor: Caitlin O’Meara, PhD and Michael Flister, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2016
Previous Education: UW-Madison, BS, Biology 
Research Topic: Role of IL13 in cardiac regeneration of neonatal mice

Mark Paterson

markpaterson-3

mpaterso@mcw.edu
Mentor: Alison Kriegel, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2014
Previous Education: Wisconsin Lutheran College, BS, Biology
Research Interest: The Kriegel Lab studies the molecular mechanisms that underlie chronic renocardiac syndrome (CRS4), especially focusing on the role of miRNAs in mediating pathophysiology.

Cody Plasterer

codyplasterer-2

cplasterer@mcw.edu
Mentor: Michael Flister, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2015
Previous Education: Utica College, BS, Biology
Research Interest: identifying genetic risk factors of breast cancer. 

Michelle Roberts

michelleroberts

miroberts@mcw.edu
Mentor: Mingyu Liang, PhD and Aron Geurts, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2017
Previous Education: University of Wisconsin – Parkside, BS, Biological Sciences; MS, Applied Molecular Biology
Research Topic: Epigenomics of hypertension, Targeted Methylation using CRIPSR/Cas technologies

Rebecca Slick

Slick-Rebecca

raslick@mcw.edu
Mentor: Michael Lawlor, MD, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2017
Previous Education: BS in Kinesiology with an emphasis in Strength and Conditioning from the University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh.
Research Topic: Establishing biomarkers in order to better sub-classify patients with Nemaline Myopathy.

Denisha Spires

denishaspires-2

dspires@mcw.edu
Mentor: Alexander Staruschenko, PhD
Year in Program: 2015
Previous Education: Tougaloo College, BS, Biology
Research Topic: The pathophysiological role of ion channels in the kidney and in the progression of renal disease.

Jennifer Tinklenberg

jennifertinklenberg

jtinklenberg@mcw.edu
Mentor: Michael Lawlor, MD, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2017
Previous Education: UW-Stevens Point, BS; UW-Milwaukee, MS, Biology
Research Interest: I am interested in biomarkers related to muscle disease as well as therapeutic treatments for myopathies and dystrophies.

Nnamdi Uche

nnamdiuche

nuche@mcw.edu
Mentor:  Julian Lombard, PhD and Ming You, MD, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2017
Previous Education: University of Nebraska-Lincoln, BS
Research Topic: Endothelial Dysfunction

Anna Williams

annawilliams-1

annwilliams@mcw.edu
Mentor: Mingyu Liang, PhD
Year Entered MCW: 2013
Previous Education: UW-Madison, BS, Zoology & Anthropology; MS, Biotechnology
Research Interest: I use whole genome approaches to identify biomarkers in order to predict disease progression and treatment response in patients with chronic kidney disease.