Medical College of Wisconsin Cardiovascular Center Scientific Advisory Boards

The Cardiovascular Center (CVC) continues to move forward and serve as a campus incubator to stimulate, exchange and nurture new ideas and develop novel research programs in basic, translational, and clinical research. The CVC has seen the development of an expanded long-range strategic plan for programmatic expansion with appropriate input from internal and external experts, key faculty leaders, community leaders and MCW leadership. Importantly, this includes the recruitment of distinguished, extramurally funded faculty to lead CV research programs in key areas – such as stem cells and heart failure. Both the Internal Scientific Advisory Board Members and External Scientific Advisory Board Members will help the CVC achieve its mission to improve cardiovascular health in Southeast Wisconsin and beyond.

Internal Scientific Advisory Board Members

Ivor J. Benjamin, MD, FAHA, FACC | Director, Cardiovascular Center; Professor of Medicine, Physiology, Pharmacology and Toxicology, Cell Biology, and Surgery

Zeljko J. Bosnjak, PhD | Professor of Medicine

Diane W. Braza, MD | Chair, Professor of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation; Residency Director of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation; Clinical Director of MCW and Froedtert Hospital SpineCare 

William B. Campbell, PhD | Chair and Professor of Pharmacology and Toxicology

John A. Corbett, PhD | Chair and Professor of Biochemistry

Allen W. Cowley, Jr., PhD | Former Director of the Cardiovascular Center

Leonard E. Egede, MD, MS | Professor of Medicine, Director of Center for Advancing Population Science, Chief of Division of Internal Medicine, Associate Director for Cancer Disparities; Co-Director of MCW CTSI KL2 Program; Director of CTSI Master's in Clinical/Translational Research; Associate Director of Diversity in the Linda T. and John A. Mellowes Center for Genomic Sciences and Precision Medicine

David Gutterman, MD | Senior Associate Director, Cardiovascular Center

David R. Harder, PhD | Former Director of the Cardiovascular Center

Elizabeth R. Jacobs, MD, MBA | Associate Dean of Research; Professor, Medicine; Associate Chief of Staff for Research, Milwaukee VAMC 

Balaraman Kalyanaraman, PhD | Harry R. & Angeline E. Quadracci Professor of Parkinson’s Research; Professor of Biophysics

Joy Lincoln, PhD | Professor and Associate Chief, Pediatric Cardiology, Toxicology Research Director, Pediatric Cardiology, Peter Sommerhauser Chair for Cardiac Quality, Outcomes and Research, Children’s Wisconsin, Director of Cardiovascular Research, Herma Heart Institute; Associate Director, Cardiovascular Center

John Mantsch, PhD | Florence J. Williams Professor and Chair of Pharmacology

John Meurer, MD, MBA | Professor of Pediatrics and Community Health; Director of the MCW Institute for Health & Equity

David Nelson, PhD, MS | Professor of Family Medicine, Ann E. Heil Professor of Cancer Research

Peter J. Newman, PhD | Professor of Pharmacology and Toxicology and Cell Biology, Neurobiology and Anatomy; Vice President for Research, Versiti Blood Center of Wisconsin; Associate Director, Blood Research Institute

Paul Pearson, MD, PhD | Professor of Surgery, Chief of the Division of Cardiothoracic Surgery

Jorge Saucedo, MD, MBA |Chief, Cardiovascular Medicine; Director, Heart & Vascular Service Line; Professor & Eminent Scholar of Medicine

Melinda Stolley, PhD | Division of Hematology and Oncology, Department of Medicine; Associate Director of Cancer Prevention and Control Chief; Administrative Officer of Clinical and Translational Research

Curt D. Sigmund, PhD | James J. Smith and Catherine Welsch Smith Professor of Physiology, Chair of Physiology, Associate Director, Cardiovascular Center

Roy Silverstein, MD | Chair and Linda and John Mellowes Professor of Medicine

Mary G. Sorci-Thomas, PhD | Professor of Medicine, Adjunct Investigator at the Versiti Blood Research Institute; Associate Director of the CVC Postdoctoral T32 Program

Doriel D. Ward, PhD, MPH | Assistant Provost, Medical College of Wisconsin; Executive Director, Clinical and Translational Science Institute of Southeast Wisconsin

Gilbert C. White II, MD | Executive Vice President for Research; Director, Versiti Blood Research Institute; Professor, Medicine, Biochemistry, and Pharmacology and Toxicology

Michael Widlansky, MD, MPH | Northwestern Mutual Professor of Cardiovascular Medicine, Department of Medicine and Pharmacology; Associate Director, Cardiovascular Center

External Scientific Advisory Board Members

Donna K. Arnett, PhD, MSPH | University of Kentucky, Dean of College of Public Health

Jean-Bernard Durand, MD | University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
Professor of Medicine, Department of Cardiology Medical Director, Cardiomyopathy Services Director, Cardiovascular Genetics Research Co-Chair IRB 5

David G. Harrison, MD | Vanderbilt University Medical Center
Betty and Jack Bailey Professor of Medicine and Pharmacology; Director, Division of Clinical Pharmacology; Director of the Center for Vascular Biology

Elizabeth M. McNally, MD, PhD | Northwestern University
Director of the Center for Genetic Medicine; Elizabeth J. Ward Professor of Genetic Medicine; Professor of Medicine in Cardiology, Biochemistry, and Molecular Genetics

Elizabeth Murphy, PhD | National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute
Senior Investigator, Laboratory of Cardiac Physiology

Peipei Ping, PhD | David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA
Professor of Physiology, Medicine/Cardiology and Bioinformatics, Director, NIH BD2K Center of Excellence at UCLA, Director, NIH BD2K Centers-Coordination Center at UCLA

David J. Pinsky, MD | University of Michigan Medical School
Director and Science Lead, Frankel Cardiovascular Center; Professor of Internal Medicine in Cardiology

Daniel J. Rader, MD | University of Pennsylvania
Director, Preventive Cardiovascular Medicine and Lipid Clinic; Associate Director, Institute for Translational Medicine and Therapeutics; Director, Cardiovascular Metabolism Unit, Institute for Diabetes, Obesity and Metabolism; Program Director, General Clinical Research Center; Scientific Director, Clinical and Translational Research, Cardiovascular Institute; Chief, Division of Translational Medicine and Human Genetics, Department of Medicine; Director, PennMedicine BioBank, Institute for Translational Medicine and Therapeutics; Chair, Department of Genetics