Institutions of higher education in the United States seek accreditation through two broad types of accreditation agencies, Federal Regional Accrediting Bodies that accredit institutions, and specialized bodies that accredit specific programs.

The Higher Learning Commission (HLC) is one of six regional institutional accreditors in the United States. The HLC accredits degree-granting post-secondary educational institutions in the North Central region of the U.S. The Medical College of Wisconsin is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission. MCW's Medical School, Graduate School and any future degree-granting schools are encompassed institutionally under HLC accreditation.

The Liaison Committee for Medical Education (LCME) is the accrediting body for all U.S. allopathic (MD-granting) medical schools. The LCME awarded full, eight-year accreditation to MCW in 2011, the maximum period of accreditation. LCME accreditation recognizes that MCW provides a medical education program consistent with the high standards of other U.S. allopathic medical schools, while HLC accreditation is also necessary to demonstrate that MCW functions in accordance with all Department of Education requirements.