Department of Surgery Mentoring Committee

Mission Statement
The Mission of the Mentoring Committee is “to provide a structure for formal mentoring of junior faculty in order to foster academic success.”

The value of mentorship in academic medicine is increasingly being recognized as vital to the success of its faculty. Multiple studies demonstrate improvements in a number of parameters including career goal setting, understanding of paths to promotion, junior faculty retention, achievement of local, regional, or national leadership positions as part of broad professional activities, enhancement of junior faculty grant productivity, and overall faculty career success. A recent survey of chairs provides a glimpse of mentorship programs in departments of surgery in the US, with an accompanying commentary stressing the importance of career development for surgical faculty. Given the increasingly complex nature of MCW with two new regional campuses, new schools, and multiple promotion tracks, it is more imperative than ever that faculty are provided a mentoring and professional development infrastructure to succeed. Since an institutionally-based mentoring program for all faculty is not yet available, the Department of Surgery has instituted its own Mentoring Committee focused initially on the academic success of junior faculty.

Components of Mentoring - Three Pillars (short- and long-term goals) (PDF)

Academic Achievement Pillar WIN Mnemonic

W: What are my 3- and 5-year goals?

I: Importance of my CV
Abstracts, Presentations, and Manuscripts
Educator Portfolio (if applicable)

N: National/Regional Societies
To join and/or attain a leadership role


4:00-4:45 p.m. - Joshua Hunt, PhD
4:45-5:30 p.m. - Melissa Wong, MD
HUB Conference Room A5520

4:00-4:45 p.m. - Kathleen Lak, MD
4:45-5:30 p.m. - Colleen Trevino, MSN, FNP, PhD
HUB Conference Room A5520

Open AllClose All
  Past Committee Meetings

Dr. Alizadegan  

Dr. Siddiqui
Dr. Eriksen  

Dr. T. Pearson
Dr. Price  

Dr. Wohlauer  

Dr. Higgins
Dr. Patten  

Dr. Peschman  

Dr. Clarke
Dr. Davis  

Dr. Sakpal
Dr. Mogal  

Dr. Ridolfi
Dr. Malinowski  

Dr. Carver

Dr. Peterson
Dr. Kindel  

Dr. Shah-Khan  

Dr. Dodgion
Dr. Zanowski  

Dr. Carr  

Contact Us

Marilyn Zarka
(414) 955-1834

Members of the Committee

Douglas Evans, MD
Kellie Brown, MD
Terri deRoon-Cassini, PhD
David Gourlay, MD
Brian Lewis, MD
Gwen Lomberk, PhD
Mary Otterson, MD, MS
Philip Redlich, MD, PhD
Ryan Spellecy, PhD
Tracy Wang, MD, MPH
Travis Webb, MD, MHPE
Michael Zimmerman, MD

Meeting Minutes (MCW login)