GettyImages-763162017-hero

Radiation Oncology

Medical Residency Program

The Radiation Oncology Residency Program at the Medical College of Wisconsin Affiliated Hospitals is a Residency Review Committee and American Board of Radiology fully certified program designed to educate residents in the current principles and practice of radiation oncology. A four year program of post-internship radiation oncology is provided with the goal of educating residents in all aspects of radiation oncology with special emphasis on the multidisciplinary treatment of cancer patients and preparing them for successful execution of the board exams. Two resident positions are filled annually.

Comprehensive resident rotations in all aspects of Radiation Oncology are performed at several locations including Froedtert Hospital, Clement J. Zablocki VA Medical Center, Community Memorial Hospital, and Children's Hospital of Wisconsin.

MedicalResidents2018

Department Overview

The Department of Radiation Oncology works in partnership with three different organizations to provide services at five locations. The largest site served is located in the Froedtert and Medical College Clinical Cancer Center. Froedtert Hospital and the Medical College of Wisconsin have had a long-standing partnership and is one of only two academic centers located in Wisconsin. The partnership between Froedtert Hospital and the Medical College of Wisconsin also provides the Department of Radiation Oncology an opportunity to provide services at Community Memorial Hospital in Menomonee Falls, WI, St. Joseph’s Hospital in West Bend, WI and Drexel Town Square Health Center in Oak Creek, WI. Services are also provided at the Clement J. Zablocki VA Medical Center located in Milwaukee, Wisconsin.

Among these five sites, the Department of Radiation Oncology treats approximately 2400 patients per year. Nineteen staff radiation oncologists and eight physician residents are involved in patient care as well as various in-house, national, and international cooperative group clinical protocols. At Froedtert Hospital, the primary location of the Medical Residency Program, approximately 1200 patients are treated annually. Froedtert Hospital provides the technical components (machines, equipment, dosimetry staff) of the radiation oncology department while the Medical College of Wisconsin provides the professional components (physicians, physicists, physician and physics residents, other academic faculty and staff).

Contract & Benefits Information

Residents in the Radiation Oncology Residency Program are under contract with the Medical College of Wisconsin Affiliated Hospitals, Inc.

Please view MCWAH's Benefits, Conditions & Terms of Employment for more information.

Meet Our Medical Residents

headshot

Jenna Borkenhagen, MD

Medical Resident, PGY-5

jborkenhagen@mcw.edu

University of Wisconsin- Madison, Madison, WI (2014)

headshot

Lucas Gillbride, MD

Medical Resident, PGY-5

lgillbride@mcw.edu

The Commonwealth Medical College, Scranton, PA

headshot

Nina Desai, MD

Medical Resident, PGY-4

ndesai@mcw.edu

Medical College of Wisconsin, Milwaukee, WI (2015)

headshot

Ross Zeitlin, MD

Medical Resident, PGY-4

rzeitlin@mcw.edu

University of Florida College of Medicine, Gainesville, FL (2015)

headshot

Robert Fain, III, MD

Medical Resident, PGY-3

rfain@mcw.edu

Oregon Health and Science University, Portland, OR (2016)

headshot

Katie Livingston, MD

Medical Resident, PGY-2

klivingston@mcw.edu

Medical College of Wisconsin (2017)

headshot

Amber Retzlaff, MD

Medical Resident, PGY-2

aretzlaff@mcw.edu

University of Minnesota Medical School (2016)

headshot

Saryleine Ortiz de Choudens, MD

Medical Resident

sortiz@mcw.edu

University of Puerto Rico School of Medicine (2017)

Medical Residency Contact Information

Adam Currey, MD

Program Director
Associate Professor, Radiation Oncology
acurrey@mcw.edu

Monica Shukla, MD

Associate Program Director
Assistant Professor, Radiation Oncology
mshukla@mcw.edu

Patrice Moya, BS

Education Program Coordinator III
(414) 805-4472
pmoya@mcw.edu