Surgical Critical Care Fellowships

The Surgical Critical Care Fellowship is an ACGME accredited one year fellowship. The fellowship offers a number of elective rotations such as palliative care, trauma, CVICU and includes one month of research divided into two, two-week blocks. The Surgical Critical Care Fellow is required to have completed at least three years in an ACGME accredited program such as general surgery, emergency medicine or obstetrics and gynecology. Emergency Medicine applicants are welcome.

The Surgical Intensive Care Unit (SICU) is a graduated responsibility system and the Surgical Critical Care Fellow is primarily responsible for supervision of the surgical critical care team as a senior trainee. The service typically includes a PGY 3 surgery resident, emergency medicine resident and a PGY 1 surgery resident. As the year progresses the surgical critical care fellow is given more independent activity but will continue to work cooperatively with the surgical critical care faculty.

The faculty consists of 13 surgeons who are board certified in general surgery and surgical critical care as well as two anesthesiologists with critical care medicine qualifications. The fellows will have the opportunity to work with all the trauma and critical care faculty throughout the year.

The SICU is a 22-bed unit that admits all surgical cases. The SICU service is responsible for the patient’s care while in the SICU.  The critical care services in the SICU and CVICU admit a broad array of critically ill patients. These patients provide the core foundation for critical care education throughout the fellowship. Fellows are expected to become proficient in bedside ultrasound, ECMO and cardiac assist devices, in addition to the core cardio pulmonary and resuscitation strategies.

Applications should include:

  1. Curriculum Vitae
  2. Three Letters of Recommendation
  3. USMLE Scores
  4. Medical School Transcripts

View more information on the Graduate Medical Education Benefits page.

Current Surgical Critical Care Fellow


Past Surgical Critical Care Fellows

2018-2019 Joe Losh, MD

2017-2018 Charlie Fehring, MD

2017-2018 Andrew Kamien, MD

2016-2017 Nathaniel (Nat) Bonfanti, MD

2016-2017 James Cooros, MD

Current Pediatric Critical Care Fellow


Past Pediatric Critical Care Fellow

2018-2019 Alessandra Landmann, MD

2017-2018 Jose Salazar, MD

2016-2017 Ruchi Amin, MD

Contact Us

Program Director

(414) 955-1733
(414) 955-0072 (fax)
Laurie Hein
Laurie Hein
Program Manager

(414) 955-1733
(414) 955-0072 (fax)
Medical College of Wisconsin
Division of Trauma and Acute Care Surgery
8701 Watertown Plank Rd.
Milwaukee, WI 53226