Research Bench Lab

Microbiology & Immunology

Meet Our Team

Graduate Faculty

headshot

John R. Kirby, PhD

Chair, Microbiology and Immunology; Walter Schroeder Professor in Microbiology and Immunology; Associate Director, Genome Sciences & Precision Medicine Center; Associate Director, Center for Microbiome Research

jkirby@mcw.edu

(414) 955-8253

Microbial Signal Transduction

headshot

Joseph T. Barbieri, PhD

Professor; Director, Medical Scientist Training Program

jtb01@mcw.edu

(414) 955-8412

Microbial Pathogenesis

headshot

Yi-Guang Chen, PhD

Associate Professor, Pediatrics (Endocrinology) and Microbiology and Immunology

yichen@mcw.edu

(414) 955-7583

Immunogenetics of type 1 diabetes

headshot

Jenifer Coburn, PhD

Professor, Medicine (Infectious Diseases) and Microbiology and Immunology; Center for Infectious Disease Research

jcoburn@mcw.edu

(414) 955-4116

Bacterial Pathogenesis

headshot

Weiguo Cui, PhD

Associate Investigator, Blood Research Institute, BloodCenter of Wisconsin; Assistant Professor, Microbiology and Immunology

wecui@mcw.edu

(414) 955-8253

Effector and memory T cell differentiation

headshot

Bonnie N. Dittel, PhD

Senior Investigator, Blood Research Institute, BloodCenter of Wisconsin; Assistant Professor, Microbiology and Immunology

bonnie.dittel@bcw.edu

(414) 955-8253

Immune regulation and homeostasis

headshot

William R. Drobyski, MD

Mariette C. and Philip W. Orth/Tom Anderson Chair of Oncology; Co-Leader, Discovery and Developmental Therapeutics Program, Cancer Center; Professor, Medicine (Hematology/Oncology), Pediatrics, Microbiology and immunology

wdrobysk@mcw.edu

(414) 456-4941

Inflammation and Immunology, Transplantation Biology

headshot

Michael B. Dwinell, PhD

Professor; Founding Director, Center for Immunology; Director, Bobbie Nick Voss Laboratory for Colon Cancer Research; Leader, Molecular Cancer Therapeutics

mdwinell@mcw.edu

(414) 955-7427

Cancer Metastasis, Tumor Microenvironment, Mucosal Inflammation

headshot

Jack Gorski, PhD

Senior Investigator, Blood Research Institute, BloodCenter of Wisconsin; Assistant Professor, Microbiology and Immunology; Director, Center for Human Immunology

jgorski@mcw.edu

(414) 955-8253

headshot

Kelly J. Henrickson, MD

Professor, Pediatrics (Infectious Diseases) and Microbiology and Immunology; Director, Midwest Respiratory Virus Program

khenrick@mcw.edu

(414) 337-7070

Negative strand respiratory virus molecular epidemiology and natural history

headshot

Martin J. Hessner, PhD

Professor, Pediatrics (Endocrinology) and Microbiology and Immunology; Director, Max McGee Research Center for Juvenile Diabetes

mhessner@mcw.edu

(414) 456-4496

The Microbiome in the Development and Progression of Type 1 Diabetes

headshot

Amy Hudson, PhD

Professor

ahudson@mcw.edu

(414) 955-5774

Viral Immune Evasion

headshot

Anna H. Huppler, MD

Assistant Professor, Pediatrics (Infectious Diseases) and Microbiology and Immunology

ahuppler@mcw.edu

(414) 337-7070

headshot

Bryon D. Johnson, PhD

Professor, Pediatrics (Hematology/Oncology/BMT) and Microbiology and Immunology

bjohnson@mcw.edu

(414) 955-4123

Cancer immunology and immunotherapy

headshot

Nikki Johnston, PhD

Associate Professor, Otolaryngology & Communication Sciences and Microbiology and Immunology

njohnston@mcw.edu

(414) 955-4075

Extraesophageal reflux

headshot

Jennifer Knight, MD

Assistant Professor, Psychiatry and Behavioral Medicine and Microbiology and Immunology

jmknight@mcw.edu

(414) 955-8900

headshot

Christopher J. Kristich, PhD

Associate Professor; Director, Center for Infectious Disease Research

ckristich@mcw.edu

(414) 955-4141

Signal Transduction and Antibiotic Resistance in Gram-Positive Bacteria

headshot

Antje Kroner-Milsch, MD, PhD

Assistant Professor, Neurosurgery and Microbiology and Immunology

Therapeutic potential of modifying the inflammatory response after spinal cord injury

Robert Lochhead, PhD

Assistant Professor; Secondary Faculty in Medicine (Rheumatology)

rlochhead@mcw.edu

(414) 955-4882

Lyme disease, inflammation and autoimmunity

headshot

Roy M. Long, PhD

Associate Professor; Assistant Dean for Graduate Recruitment

rlong@mcw.edu

(414) 955-8423

RNA Localization in Yeast

headshot

Subramaniam Malarkannan, PhD

Professor and Gardetto Chair for Immunology and Immunotherapy; Professor, Medicine (Hematology and Oncology) and Microbiology and Immunology; Senior Investigator, Blood Research Institute

smalarka@mcw.edu

(414) 937-3812

NK cell development and function

headshot

Mark T. McNally, PhD

Associate Professor

mtm@mcw.edu

(414) 955-8749

RNA Processing (splicing and polyadenylation) in Cells and Viruses

headshot

Debra K. Newman, PhD

Senior Investigator, Blood Research Institute, BloodCenter of Wisconsin; Adjunct Professor, Microbiology and Immunology and Pharmacology and Toxicology

debra.newman@bcw.edu

(414) 937-3820

Thrombosis and Hemostasis, Immunology

headshot

Amy Prunuske, PhD

Basic Sciences Faculty

aprunuske@mcw.edu

Amy Prunuske, PhD, Basic Sciences Faculty

headshot

Matthew Riese, MD, PhD

Assistant Professor, Medicine (Hematology and Oncology) and Microbiology and Immunology; Associate Investigator, Blood Research Institute, BloodCenter of Wisconsin

TCR signal transduction and application to tumor immunology

headshot

John Routes, MD

Professor, Pediatrics (Allergy, Asthma & Immunology) and Microbiology and Immunology; Chief, Section of Allergy and Clinical Immunology

Primary Immunodeficiencies

headshot

Nita H. Salzman, MD, PhD

Professor, Pediatrics and Microbiology & Immunology; Director, Center for Microbiome Research; Associate Director, Medical Scientist Training Program; CRI Research Unit Leader for Infection, Inflammation and Immunology Research Unit; Director, GI Clinical Laboratory

nsalzman@mcw.edu

(414) 955-4244

Antimicrobial Peptides, host-microbe interactions in the GI tract, microbiota in health and disease

headshot

John R. Schreiber, MD, MPH

CEO Medical College Physicians; Senior Associate Dean for Clinical Affairs; Professor, Microbiology and Immunology

headshot

Andrey Sorokin, PhD

Professor, Medicine (Nephrology) and Microbiology and Immunology

sorokin@mcw.edu

(414) 955-4438

Cell signaling as related to pathobiology of kidney diseases

headshot

Vera Tarakanova, PhD

Associate Professor

vtarakan@mcw.edu

(414) 955-7480

Virus-associated Tumorigenesis and Virus-host Interactions

headshot

Carolyn A. Taylor, PhD

Professor, Medicine (Hematology and Oncology) and Microbiology and Immunology; Director, Cell Processing Laboratory, Lymphocyte Propagation Laboratory, and BMT Research Laboratory

ckeever@mcw.edu

(414) 805-6145

Immunotherapy, Immune Reconstitution post blood and marrow transplantation

headshot

Scott S. Terhune, PhD

Associate Professor

sterhune@mcw.edu

(414) 955-2511

Human Cytomegalovirus Host-Cell Protein Interactions During Infection

headshot

James Verbsky, MD, PhD

Associate Professor, Pediatrics (Rheumatology) and Microbiology and Immunology; Medical Director, Clinical Immunology Research Laboratory; Medical Director, Clinical and Translational Research

jverbsky@mcw.edu

(414) 266-6700

Immune regulation, T regulatory cells, role of IL-2 and IL-10 in immune regulation, mechanisms of suppression of immune responses by T regulatory cells

headshot

Demin Wang, PhD

Senior Investigator, Blood Research Institute, BloodCenter of Wisconsin; Assistant Professor

dewang@mcw.edu

(414) 955-8253

Signal Regulation of B Lymphopoiesis

headshot

Li Lily Wang, PhD

Associate Professor

lilywang@mcw.edu

(414) 955-7489

Immune Regulation Mediated by Negative Checkpoint Regulators and Cancer Immunotherapy

headshot

Liang Wang, MD, PhD

Professor, Pathology and Microbiology and Immunology

liwang@mcw.edu

(414) 955-2574

Cancer Genetics and Biomarkers

headshot

Calvin B. Williams, MD, PhD

Professor, Pediatrics and Microbiology and Immunology; Associate Dean of Research; Associate Director, Medical Scientist Training Program; Chief Scientific Officer, Children's Hospital of Wisconsin Research Institute; Chief, Pediatric Rheumatology; Vice Chair, Research, Pediatrics

mstp@mcw.edu

(414) 955-8641

T cell development, Regulatory T cell biology, Mucosal tolerance

headshot

Thomas C. Zahrt, PhD

Professor

tzahrt@mcw.edu

(414) 955-7429

Bacterial Pathogenesis and Host-Cell Interactions

Adjunct Faculty

headshot

Kenneth P. Allen, DVM, DACLAM

Staff Veterinarian; Associate Professor, Microbiology and Immunology

kpallen@mcw.edu

(414) 955-8632

Veterinary Medicine

headshot

Bill Cashdollar, PhD

Director, Research Core Labs & Facilities, BloodCenter of Wisconsin; Adjunct Faculty, Microbiology and Immunology

bill.cashdollar@bcw.edu

(414) 937-3847

headshot

Philip N. Redlich, MD, PhD

Gerald L. Schmitz Professor of Surgery; Professor, Surgery (General Surgery) and Microbiology and Immunology; Chief, Division of Education, Department of Surgery

Medical Student Education, Surgery Resident Education

headshot

Fritz Sieber, PhD

Professor (with tenure), Pediatrics (Hematology/Oncology/BMT) and Microbiology and Immunology

fsieber@mcw.edu

(414) 955-4155

Selenium-based experimental therapeutics

headshot

Paula Traktman, PhD

Adjunct Professor

(414) 955-8253

Vaccinia virus and VRK protein kinases

Administrative Staff

Jennifer Foley, Administrator II | (414) 955-8031

Crystal James, Administrative Coordinator | (414) 955-4856

Kim Peplinski, Administrative Coordinator | (414) 955-8832

Caitlin Struck, Administrative Manager | (414) 955-8108

Kathleen J. Thompson, Education Program Coordinator II | (414) 955-4881

Jason Pokorny, Manager, IS II | (414) 955-8321