Research Collaborate Lab Bench

Medical Scientist Training Program

Meet Our Current Students

Every year, 6-10 highly talented individuals from diverse backgrounds and interests join the MCW MSTP family. We currently have students from 38 different undergraduate institutions across 18 states.

Our students and administrators are very supportive and helpful to one another, fostering outstanding mentorship and creating an inclusive environment to help you integrate your passion for research with medicine.

Learn more about our current students, including their research interests and publications.

The MSTP is an unparalleled opportunity to receive an education that poises trainees for productive careers as both clinicians and researchers. MCW has a wide (and expanding) array of friendly faculty willing to support students in all phases of their education. Furthermore, the MCW MSTP administrators are extraordinarily kind and willing to facilitate the best training experience in any way possible.

Casey Zoss

M1 Students

headshot

Maya Blau

M1 Student

mblau@mcw.edu

University of Rochester

headshot

Ryan Bonate

M1 Student

rbonate@mcw.edu

Loyola University

headshot

Donovan Drouillard

M1 Student

ddrouillard@mcw.edu

University of Michigan-Ann Arbor

headshot

Megan Fischer

M1 Student

mcfischer@mcw.edu

University of Wisconsin-Madison

headshot

Mina Ghobrial

M1 Student

mghobrial@mcw.edu

Tufts University

headshot

Cristhian Gutierrez Huerta

M1 Student

cgutierrez@mcw.edu

University of California-Merced

headshot

Samuel Hernandez

M1 Student

sahernandez@mcw.edu

Knox College

headshot

Mindy Kim

M1 Student

minkim@mcw.edu

Johns Hopkins University

headshot

Guadalupe Valdivia

M1 Student

gvaldivia@mcw.edu

Marquette University

headshot

Luke Zangl

M1 Student

lzangl@mcw.edu

University of Wisconsin-Madison

M2 Students

headshot

Jacob Bartosiak

M2 Student

jbartosiak@mcw.edu

University of Wisconsin-Madison

headshot

Ryan Brown

M2 Student

rjbrown@mcw.edu

University of Wisconsin-Madison

headshot

Josiah Murray

M2 Student

jmurray@mcw.edu

University of Minnesota-Twin Cities

headshot

David Nowak

M2 Student

dnowak@mcw.edu

Marquette University

headshot

Damon Schmalzreidt

M2 Student

dschmalzried@mcw.edu

Viterbo University

headshot

Kathryn Smith

M2 Student

kasmith@mcw.edu

University of Notre Dame

headshot

Emma Tillison

M2 Student

etillison@mcw.edu

Marquette University

headshot

Casey Zoss

M2 Student

czoss@mcw.edu

Briar Cliff University

G1 Students

headshot

Karina Bursch

G1 Student

kbursch@mcw.edu

Advised by Brian Smith, PhD, Biochemistry

headshot

Kelli Cole

G1 Student

kecole@mcw.edu

Advised by Bonnie Dittel, PhD, Microbiology & Immunology

headshot

Julian Grosskopf

G1 Student

jgrosskopf@mcw.edu

Advised by Michael Lerch, PhD, Biophysics

headshot

Sritejasvinthi Karimikonda

G1 Student

skarimikonda@mcw.edu

Advised by Nita Salzman, MD, PhD, Microbiology & Immunology

headshot

Thomas Kelly

G1 Student

tjkelly@mcw.edu

Advised by Qing-song Liu, PhD, Pharmacology and Toxicology

headshot

Siying Lin

G1 Student

silin@mcw.edu

Advised by Weiguo Cui, PhD, Microbiology & Immunology

headshot

Gopika SenthilKumar

G1 Student

gsenthilkuma@mcw.edu

Advised by Julie Freed, MD, PhD, Anesthesiology, Physiology

headshot

Samuel Zorn

G1 Student

szorn@mcw.edu

Advised by Cheryl Stucky, PhD, Cell Biology, Neurobiology & Anatomy

G2 Students

headshot

Ashley Brown

G2 Student

asbrown2@mcw.edu

Advised by Weiguo Cui, PhD, Microbiology & Immunology

headshot

Mohamed Khalil

G2 Student

mokhalil@mcw.edu

Advised by Subramaniam Malarkannan, PhD, and Scott Terhune, PhD, Microbiology & Immunology

headshot

Nicholas Malcolm

G2 Student

nmalcolm@mcw.edu

Advised by John McCorvy, PhD, Cell Biology, Neurobiology & Anatomy

headshot

Christopher Monti

G2 Student

cmonti@mcw.edu

Advised by Scott Terhune, PhD Microbiology & Immunology

headshot

Peter Zhang

G2 Student

pezhang@mcw.edu

Advised by Michael Martens, PhD, Biostatistics

G3 Students

headshot

Kyler Crawford

G3 Student

kscrawford@mcw.edu

Advised by Brian Volkman, PhD, Biochemistry

headshot

Matthew Hadiono

G3 Student

mhadiono@mcw.edu

Advised by John Kirby, PhD, Microbiology & Immunology

headshot

Moujtaba Kasmani

G3 Student

mkasmani@mcw.edu

Advised by Weiguo Cui, PhD, Microbiology & Immunology

headshot

Stephen Mazurchuk

G3 Student

smazurchuk@mcw.edu

Advised by Jeffrey Binder, MD, Biophysics

headshot

Kelsey Meacham

G3 Student

kmeacham@mcw.edu

Advised by Blake Hill, PhD, Biochemistry

headshot

Wasif Osmani

G3 Student

wosmani@mcw.edu

Advised by Matthew Hodges, PhD, Physiology

headshot

Tyler Waltz

G3 Student

twaltz@mcw.edu

Advised by Cheryl Stucky, PhD, Cell Biology, Neurobiology & Anatomy

G4 Students

headshot

Melissa Anfinson

G4 Student

manfinson@mcw.edu

Advised by Aoy Mitchell, PhD, Cell Biology, Neurobiology & Anatomy

headshot

Linda Berg Luecke

G4 Student

lbergluecke@mcw.edu

Advised by Rebekah Gundry, PhD

headshot

Ayana Jamal

G4 Student

ajamal@mcw.edu

Advised by Brian Link, PhD, Cell Biology, Neurobiology & Anatomy

headshot

Hayley Powers

G4 Student

hpowers@mcw.edu

Advised by Daisy Sahoo, PhD, Biochemistry

headshot

Sai-Suma Samudrala

G4 Student

ssamudrala@mcw.edu

Advised by Aoy Mitchell, PhD, Cell Biology, Neurobiology & Anatomy

headshot

Todd Stollenwerk

G4 Student

tstollenwerk@mcw.edu

Advised by Cecilia Hillard, PhD, Pharmacology & Toxicology

headshot

Paytsar Topchyan

G4 Student

ptopchyan@mcw.edu

Advised by Weiguo Cui, PhD, Microbiology & Immunology

G5 Students

headshot

Samantha Chou

G5 Student

schou@mcw.edu

Advised by Matt Scaglione, PhD, Biochemistry

M3 Students

headshot

Puja Agrawal, PhD

M3 Student

pagrawal@mcw.edu

Advised by Sridhar Rao, MD, PhD, Pediatrics (Hematology/Oncology) and Cell Biology, Neurobiology & Anatomy

headshot

Carlie Aurubin, PhD

M3 Student

caurubin@mcw.edu

Advised by Vera Tarakanova, PhD, Microbiology & Immunology

headshot

Acacia Dishman, PhD

M3 Student

adishman@mcw.edu

Advised by Brian Volkman, PhD, Biochemistry

headshot

Katelyn Heimbruch, PhD

M3 Student

kheimbruch@mcw.edu

Advised by Sridhar Rao, MD, PhD, Pediatrics (Hematology/Oncology) and Cell Biology, Neurobiology & Anatomy

headshot

Alicia Ivory

M3 Student

aivory@mcw.edu

Advised by Andrew Greene, PhD, Physiology

headshot

Dwani Patel

M3 Student

ddpatel@mcw.edu

Advised by Daniel Lipinski, MSc, DPhil, Cell Biology, Neurobiology & Anatomy

M4 Students

headshot

Alexander Helfand, PhD

M4 Student

ahelfand@mcw.edu

Advised by Jeffrey Binder, MD, Neurology, Cell Biology, Neurobiology & Anatomy, and Biophysics

headshot

Clinton Piper, PhD

M4 Student

cpiper@mcw.edu

Advised by William Drobyski, MD, Medicine, Pediatrics, and Microbiology & Immunology

headshot

Casey Vickstrom, PhD

M4 Student

cvickstrom@mcw.edu

Advised by Qing-song Liu, PhD, Pharmacology and Toxicology

headshot

Emily Vonderhaar-Meister, PhD

M4 Student

evonderhaar@mcw.edu

Advised by Michael Dwinell, PhD, Microbiology & Immunology

headshot

Erica N. Woertz, PhD

M4 Student

ewoertz@mcw.edu

Advised by Joseph Carroll, PhD, Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences, Biophysics, and Cell Biology, Neurobiology & Anatomy; located at the Eye Institute