Research Collaborate Lab Bench

Medical Scientist Training Program

Meet Our Current Students

Students Collaborate Classroom

Every year, 6-10 highly talented men and women from diverse backgrounds and interests join the MCW MSTP family. We currently have students from 38 different undergraduate institutions across 18 states.

Our students and administrators are very supportive and helpful to one another, fostering outstanding mentorship and creating an inclusive environment to help you integrate your passion for research with medicine.

Learn more about our current students, including their research interests and publications.

The MSTP is an unparalleled opportunity to receive an education that poises trainees for productive careers as both clinicians and researchers. MCW has a wide (and expanding) array of friendly faculty willing to support students in all phases of their education. Furthermore, the MCW MSTP administrators are extraordinarily kind and willing to facilitate the best training experience in any way possible.

Casey Zoss

Guide to Student Life

all
Stipend

Students entering the MSTP receive financial support in the form of a full tuition scholarship throughout the duration of their education, health insurance, and a stipend to cover living expenses. The stipend level, which is adjusted annually, is $30,760 for the current academic year.

Housing

Most students live in the Wauwatosa area, but consider living downtown if you like city living. Traffic in the whole Milwaukee area is moderate and commute times are short.

There is a wide range of housing options in the Milwaukee area, from small to large apartment complexes, individual duplexes or quads, townhomes, homes, condominiums, or renting a single room with shared common area. There are plenty of resources online to help you find a place to rent/buy.

Here are some popular ones that our students have used:

MCW Academic Student Services housing page

If you’re in the area, drive around and see what is local, not everyone lists online. Ask current students when you come for revisit.

Neighborhood Descriptions

Wauwatosa
This is the area directly around the school. The majority of students live here and are able to walk or bike to school. There are several large apartment complexes, but also many smaller quadplexes, duplexes, flats, and houses. There is no overnight street parking, but 95% of students living here were able to find housing that included parking. One of the best ways to find an apartment in this area is to drive through neighborhoods as many people only advertise by signs in their yard. There is a large mall with a movie theater, many grocery stores, banks, and restaurants in Wauwatosa. Major streets in this area include State St, Glenview Ave, Mayfair Rd/ Hwy 100, and Watertown Plank Rd/ Harwood Ave.

West Allis/New Berlin
Located directly south of school. It is a residential neighborhood with easy access to commercial areas and a few students live in this area. There are numerous apartment complexes, but also some smaller quadplexes, and duplexes. Parking in this area is readily available and overnight street parking is allowed with a permit. The average commute is 15 minutes. There are many stores, banks, and restaurants. Major streets in this area include Greenfield Ave, Lincoln Ave, Cleveland Ave, Oklahoma Ave, Moorland Rd, and Hwy 100/108th St.

Waukesha
Located about 25 minutes west of school off of I-94, is home to a few students. It is mostly residential, but there are many areas with industry and commercial properties. Although the drive is further, students generally are able to find more reasonable rent. There is a wide variety of accommodations ranging from apartment complexes to houses. Parking in this area is readily available and overnight street parking is allowed with a permit. There are many stores and restaurants.

East Side of Milwaukee
The East Side is located along Lake Michigan, just north of Downtown and south of the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee. It is a residential area with an urban feel. There are many coffee shops, boutiques, and diverse restaurants. There are many apartment complexes, flats and houses. Parking can be a problem in this area, but many apartments do offer parking for a fee. Overnight parking is allowed on many streets with a permit, but finding a spot can be quite competitive (especially in the winter). The average commute to MCW is about 20 minutes. Major streets in this area include Downer Ave, Prospect Ave, North Ave, and Brady St.

M1 Students

headshot

Jacob Bartosiak

M1 Student

jbartosiak@mcw.edu

University of Wisconsin-Madison

headshot

Ryan Brown

M1 Student

rjbrown@mcw.edu

University of Wisconsin-Madison

headshot

Donovan Drouillard

M1 Student

ddrouillard@mcw.edu

University of Michigan-Ann Arbor

headshot

Cristhian Gutierrez Huerta

M1 Student

cgutierrez@mcw.edu

University of California-Merced

headshot

Josiah Murray

M1 Student

jmurray@mcw.edu

University of Minnesota-Twin Cities

headshot

David Nowak

M1 Student

dnowak@mcw.edu

Marquette University

headshot

Damon Schmalzreidt

M1 Student

dschmalzried@mcw.edu

Viterbo University

headshot

Emma Tillison

M1 Student

etillison@mcw.edu

Marquette University

headshot

Casey Zoss

M1 Student

czoss@mcw.edu

Briar Cliff University

M2 Students

headshot

Karina Bursch

M2 Student

kbursch@mcw.edu

The Catholic University of America

headshot

Kelli Cole

M2 Student

kecole@mcw.edu

Marquette University

headshot

Julian Grosskopf

M2 Student

jgrosskopf@mcw.edu

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse

headshot

Sritejasvinthi Karimikonda

M2 Student

skarimikonda@mcw.edu

University of Wisconsin-Madison

headshot

Thomas Kelly

M2 Student

tjkelly@mcw.edu

University of Minnesota-Twin Cities

headshot

Siying Lin

M2 Student

silin@mcw.edu

The Catholic University of America

headshot

Zakary Plautz

M2 Student

zplautz@mcw.edu

Columbia University, New York City

headshot

Gopika Senthilkumar

M2 Student

gsenthilkuma@mcw.edu

University of Wisconsin-Madison

headshot

Samuel Zorn

M2 Student

szorn@mcw.edu

Santa Clara University

G1 Students

headshot

Ashley Brown

G1 Student

asbrown2@mcw.edu

Advised by Robert Lochhead, PhD, Microbiology & Immunology

headshot

Mohamed Khalil

G1 Student

mokhalil@mcw.edu

Advised by Subramaniam Malarkannan, PhD, and Scott Terhune, PhD, Microbiology & Immunology

headshot

Nicholas Malcolm

G1 Student

nmalcolm@mcw.edu

Advised by John McCorvy, PhD, Cell Biology, Neurobiology & Anatomy

headshot

Christopher Monti

G1 Student

cmonti@mcw.edu

Advised by Scott Terhune, PhD Microbiology & Immunology

headshot

Shana Snarrenberg

G1 Student

ssnarrenberg@mcw.edu

Advised by Qing-song Liu, PhD Pharmacology & Toxicology

headshot

Peter Zhang

G1 Student

pezhang@mcw.edu

University of Michigan

G2 Students

headshot

Kyler Crawford

G2 Student

kscrawford@mcw.edu

Advised by Brian Volkman, PhD, Biochemistry

headshot

Matthew Hadiono

G2 Student

mhadiono@mcw.edu

Advised by John Kirby, PhD, Microbiology & Immunology

headshot

Moujtaba Kasmani

G2 Student

mkasmani@mcw.edu

Advised by Weiguo Cui, PhD, Microbiology & Immunology

headshot

Stephen Mazurchuk

G2 Student

smazurchuk@mcw.edu

Advised by Jeffrey Binder, PhD, Biophysics

headshot

Kelsey Meacham

G2 Student

kmeacham@mcw.edu

Advised by Blake Hill, PhD, Biochemistry

headshot

Wasif Osmani

G2 Student

wosmani@mcw.edu

Advised by Matthew Hodges, PhD, Physiology

headshot

Tyler Waltz

G2 Student

twaltz@mcw.edu

Advised by Cheryl Stucky, PhD, Cell Biology, Neurobiology & Anatomy

G3 Students

headshot

Melissa Anfinson

G3 Student

manfinson@mcw.edu

Advised by Aoy Mitchell, PhD, Cell Biology, Neurobiology & Anatomy

headshot

Linda Berg Luecke

G3 Student

lbergluecke@mcw.edu

Advised by Rebekah Gundry, PhD

headshot

Ayana Jamal

G3 Student

ajamal@mcw.edu

Advised by Brian Link, PhD, Cell Biology, Neurobiology & Anatomy

headshot

Hayley Powers

G3 Student

hpowers@mcw.edu

Advised by Daisy Sahoo, PhD, Biochemistry

headshot

Sai-Suma Samudrala

G3 Student

ssamudrala@mcw.edu

Advised by Aoy Mitchell, PhD, Cell Biology, Neurobiology & Anatomy

headshot

Todd Stollenwerk

G3 Student

tstollenwerk@mcw.edu

Advised by Cecilia Hillard, PhD, Pharmacology & Toxicology

headshot

Paytsar Topchyan

G3 Student

ptopchyan@mcw.edu

Advised by Weiguo Cui, PhD, Microbiology & Immunology

G4 Students

headshot

Puja Agrawal

G4 Student

pagrawal@mcw.edu

Advised by Sridhar Rao, MD, PhD, Pediatrics (Hematology/Oncology) and Cell Biology, Neurobiology & Anatomy

headshot

Carlie Aurubin

G4 Student

caurubin@mcw.edu

Advised by Vera Tarakanova, PhD, Microbiology & Immunology

headshot

Samantha Chou

G4 Student

schou@mcw.edu

Advised by Matt Scaglione, PhD, Biochemistry

headshot

Acacia Dishman

G4 Student

adishman@mcw.edu

Advised by Brian Volkman, PhD, Biochemistry

headshot

Katelyn Heimbruch

G4 Student

kheimbruch@mcw.edu

Advised by Sridhar Rao, MD, PhD, Pediatrics (Hematology/Oncology) and Cell Biology, Neurobiology & Anatomy

headshot

Alicia Ivory

G4 Student

aivory@mcw.edu

Advised by Andrew Greene, PhD, Biomedical Engineering Program

headshot

Dwani Patel

G4 Student

ddpatel@mcw.edu

Advised by Daniel Lipinski, MSc, DPhil, Cell Biology, Neurobiology & Anatomy

M3 Students

headshot

Alexander Helfand, PhD

M3 Student

ahelfand@mcw.edu

Advised by Jeffrey Binder, MD, Neurology, Cell Biology, Neurobiology & Anatomy, and Biophysics

headshot

Clinton Piper, PhD

M3 Student

cpiper@mcw.edu

Advised by William Drobyski, MD, Medicine, Pediatrics, and Microbiology & Immunology

headshot

Casey Vickstrom, PhD

M3 Student

cvickstrom@mcw.edu

Advised by Qing-song Liu, PhD, Pharmacology and Toxicology

headshot

Emily Vonderhaar, PhD

M3 Student

evonderhaar@mcw.edu

Advised by Michael Dwinell, PhD, Microbiology & Immunology

headshot

Erica N. Woertz, PhD

M3 Student

ewoertz@mcw.edu

Advised by Joseph Carroll, PhD, Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences, Biophysics, and Cell Biology, Neurobiology & Anatomy; located at the Eye Institute

M4 Students

headshot

Eric Darrah, PhD

M4 Student

edarrah@mcw.edu

Advised by Vera Tarakanova, PhD, Microbiology & Immunology

headshot

Alison Huckenpahler, PhD

M4 Student

ahuckenpahle@mcw.edu

Advised by Joseph Carroll, PhD, Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences, Biophysics, and Cell Biology, Neurobiology & Anatomy

headshot

Andrew Kleist, PhD

M4 Student

akleist@mcw.edu

Advised by Brian Volkman, PhD, Biochemistry

headshot

Natasha Moussouras, PhD

M4 Student

nmoussouras@mcw.edu

Advised by Michael Dwinell, PhD, Microbiology & Immunology

headshot

Michael Olp, PhD

M4 Student

molp@mcw.edu

Advised by Brian Smith, PhD, Biochemistry

headshot

Jason Siebert, PhD

M4 Student

jsiebert@mcw.edu

Advised by Subramanian Malarkannan, PhD, Versiti Blood Research Institute