Medical Scientist Training Program
Medical Scientist Training Program

Meet Our Current Students

Every year, 6-10 highly talented individuals from diverse backgrounds and interests join the MCW MSTP family. We currently have students from 38 different undergraduate institutions across 18 states.

Our students and administrators are very supportive and helpful to one another, fostering outstanding mentorship and creating an inclusive environment to help you integrate your passion for research with medicine.

Learn more about our current students, including their research interests and publications.

The MSTP is an unparalleled opportunity to receive an education that poises trainees for productive careers as both clinicians and researchers. MCW has a wide (and expanding) array of friendly faculty willing to support students in all phases of their education. Furthermore, the MCW MSTP administrators are extraordinarily kind and willing to facilitate the best training experience in any way possible.

Casey Zoss

M1 Students

headshot

Brandon Adkins

M1 Student

badkins@mcw.edu

University of Wisconsin-La Crosse

headshot

Elizabeth Alessio

M1 Student

ealessio@mcw.edu

Oakland University

headshot

Muskan Bansal

M1 Student

mbansal@mcw.edu

Virginia Commonwealth University

headshot

Matthew Brown

M1 Student

maabrown@mcw.edu

University of Colorado Boulder

headshot

Andrew Cao

M1 Student

acao@mcw.edu

Washington University in St. Louis

headshot

Benjamin Chao

M1 Student

bchao@mcw.edu

University of Minnesota-Twin Cities

headshot

Malone Friedman

M1 Student

mfriedman@mcw.edu

North Carolina State University

headshot

Thomas Mier

M1 Student

tmier@mcw.edu

Boston College

headshot

Bradey Stuart

M1 Student

bstuart@mcw.edu

The University of Arizona

headshot

Marissa Stutzman

M1 Student

mstutzman@mcw.edu

Arcadia University

M2 Students

headshot

Maya Blau

M2 Student

mblau@mcw.edu

University of Rochester

headshot

Ryan Bonate

M2 Student

rbonate@mcw.edu

Loyola University

headshot

Donovan Drouillard

M2 Student

ddrouillard@mcw.edu

University of Michigan-Ann Arbor

headshot

Megan Fischer

M2 Student

mcfischer@mcw.edu

University of Wisconsin-Madison

headshot

Mina Ghobrial

M2 Student

mghobrial@mcw.edu

Tufts University

headshot

Cristhian Gutierrez Huerta

M2 Student

cgutierrez@mcw.edu

University of California-Merced

headshot

Samuel Hernandez

M2 Student

sahernandez@mcw.edu

Knox College

headshot

Mindy Kim

M2 Student

minkim@mcw.edu

Johns Hopkins University

headshot

Guadalupe Valdivia Esparza

M2 Student

gvaldivia@mcw.edu

Marquette University

headshot

Luke Zangl

M2 Student

lzangl@mcw.edu

University of Wisconsin-Madison

G1 Students

headshot

Jacob Bartosiak

G1 Student

jbartosiak@mcw.edu

Advised by John Corbett, PhD, Biochemistry

headshot

Ryan Brown

G1 Student

rjbrown@mcw.edu

Advised by Weiguo Cui, PhD, Microbiology & Immunology

headshot

Josiah Murray

G1 Student

jmurray@mcw.edu

Advised by Sridhar Rao, MD, PhD, CBNA

headshot

David Nowak

G1 Student

dnowak@mcw.edu

Advised by John Mantsch, PhD, Pharmacology and Toxicology

headshot

Damon Schmalzriedt

G1 Student

dschmalzried@mcw.edu

Advised by Vera Tarakanova, PhD, Microbiology & Immunology

headshot

Kathryn Smith Taquet

G1 Student

ktaquet@mcw.edu

Advised by William Drobyski, MD, Microbiology & Immunology

headshot

Emma Tillison

G1 Student

etillison@mcw.edu

Advised by Daisy Sahoo, PhD, Biochemistry

headshot

Casey Zoss

G1 Student

czoss@mcw.edu

Advised by Kathleen Schmainda, PhD, Biophysics

G2 Students

headshot

Karina Bursch

G2 Student

kbursch@mcw.edu

Advised by Brian Smith, PhD, Biochemistry

headshot

Kelli Cole

G2 Student

kecole@mcw.edu

Advised by Bonnie Dittel, PhD, Microbiology & Immunology

headshot

Julian Grosskopf

G2 Student

jgrosskopf@mcw.edu

Advised by Michael Lerch, PhD, Biophysics

headshot

Sritejasvinthi Karimikonda

G2 Student

skarimikonda@mcw.edu

Advised by Nita Salzman, MD, PhD, Microbiology & Immunology

headshot

Thomas Kelly

G2 Student

tjkelly@mcw.edu

Advised by Qing-song Liu, PhD, Pharmacology and Toxicology

headshot

Siying Lin

G2 Student

silin@mcw.edu

Advised by Weiguo Cui, PhD, Microbiology & Immunology

headshot

Gopika SenthilKumar

G2 Student

gsenthilkuma@mcw.edu

Advised by Julie Freed, MD, PhD, Physiology

headshot

Samuel Zorn

G2 Student

szorn@mcw.edu

Advised by Cheryl Stucky, PhD, Cell Biology, Neurobiology & Anatomy

G3 Students

headshot

Ashley Brown

G3 Student

asbrown2@mcw.edu

Advised by Weiguo Cui, PhD, Microbiology & Immunology

headshot

Mohamed Khalil

G3 Student

mokhalil@mcw.edu

Advised by Subramaniam Malarkannan, PhD, and Scott Terhune, PhD, Microbiology & Immunology

headshot

Nicholas Malcolm

G3 Student

nmalcolm@mcw.edu

Advised by John McCorvy, PhD, Cell Biology, Neurobiology & Anatomy

headshot

Christopher Monti

G3 Student

cmonti@mcw.edu

Advised by Scott Terhune, PhD Microbiology & Immunology

headshot

Shana Terai Lara

G3 Student

stlara@mcw.edu

Advised by Kirsten Beyer, PhD, MPH, Public & Community Health

headshot

Peter Zhang

G3 Student

pezhang@mcw.edu

Advised by Michael Martens, PhD, Biostatistics

G4 Students

headshot

Kyler Crawford

G4 Student

kscrawford@mcw.edu

Advised by Brian Volkman, PhD, Biochemistry

headshot

Matthew Hadiono

G4 Student

mhadiono@mcw.edu

Advised by John Kirby, PhD, Microbiology & Immunology

headshot

Stephen Mazurchuk

G4 Student

smazurchuk@mcw.edu

Advised by Jeffrey Binder, MD, Biophysics

headshot

Kelsey Nolden (née Meacham)

G4 Student

knolden@mcw.edu

Advised by Blake Hill, PhD, Biochemistry

headshot

Wasif Osmani

G4 Student

wosmani@mcw.edu

Advised by Matt Hodges, PhD, Physiology

headshot

Tyler Waltz

G4 Student

twaltz@mcw.edu

Advised by Cheryl Stucky, PhD, Cell Biology, Neurobiology & Anatomy

G5 Students

headshot

Melissa Anfinson

G5 Student

manfinson@mcw.edu

Advised by Aoy Mitchell, PhD, Cell Biology, Neurobiology & Anatomy

headshot

Ayana Jamal

G5 Student

ajamal@mcw.edu

Advised by Brian Link, PhD, Cell Biology, Neurobiology & Anatomy

headshot

Hayley Powers

G5 Student

hpowers@mcw.edu

Advised by Daisy Sahoo, PhD, Biochemistry

headshot

Suma Thareja

Postdoctoral Fellow

sthareja@mcw.edu

Advised by Aoy Mitchell, PhD, Cell Biology, Neurobiology & Anatomy

M3 Students

headshot

Linda Berg Luecke, PhD

M3 Student

Advised by Rebekah Gundry, PhD, Biochemistry

headshot

Samantha Chou

M3 Student

Advised by Matthew Scaglione, PhD, Biochemistry

headshot

Moujtaba Kasmani, PhD

M3 Student

Advised by Weiguo Cui, PhD, Microbiology & Immunology

headshot

Todd Stollenwerk, PhD

M3 Student

Advised by Cecilia Hillard, PhD, Pharmacology & Toxicology

headshot

Paytsar Topchyan, PhD

M3 Student

Advised by Weiguo Cui, PhD, Microbiology & Immunology

M4 Students

headshot

Puja Agrawal, PhD

M4 Student

pagrawal@mcw.edu

Advised by Sridhar Rao, MD, PhD, Cell Biology, Neurobiology & Anatomy

headshot

Carlie Aurubin, PhD

M4 Student

caurubin@mcw.edu

Advised by Vera Tarakanova, PhD, Microbiology & Immunology

headshot

Acacia Dishman, PhD

M4 Student

adishman@mcw.edu

Advised by Brian Volkman, PhD, Biochemistry

headshot

Katelyn Heimbruch, PhD

M4 Student

kheimbruch@mcw.edu

Advised by Sridhar Rao, MD, PhD, Cell Biology, Neurobiology & Anatomy

headshot

Alicia Ivory, MS

M4 Student

aivory@mcw.edu

Advised by Andrew Greene, PhD, Physiology

headshot

Dwani Patel, PhD

M4 Student

ddpatel@mcw.edu

Advised by Daniel Lipinski, MSc, DPhil, Cell Biology, Neurobiology & Anatomy