AdobeStock_214253348

Cell Biology, Neurobiology and Anatomy (CBNA)

Faculty

Primary Faculty

headshot

Jonathan S. Marchant, MA, PhD

Marcus Professor & Chair

jmarchant@mcw.edu

(414) 955-8261

Calcium Signaling & Human Disease

headshot

Xiaowen Bai, MD, PhD

Associate Professor

xibai@mcw.edu

(414) 955-5755

Stem cell-mediated tissue regeneration, human stem cell-based disease modeling, non-coding RNA and mitochondrial mechanisms in neurodegeneration

headshot

Michele A. Battle, PhD

Associate Professor

mbattle@mcw.edu

(414) 955-8089

Transcriptional control of liver and gut development and physiology

headshot

David L. Bolender, PhD

Professor

bolender@mcw.edu

(414) 955-8474

Tissue interactions in embryonic heart development/curriculum development

headshot

John D. Chan, PhD

Assistant Professor

jdchan@mcw.edu

(414) 955-8484

Mechanisms of anthelmintics targeting parasitic blood flukes

headshot

Lisa Ann Cirillo, PhD

Associate Professor

lcirillo@mcw.edu

(414) 955-4694

Molecular mechanisms underlying liver development and function, with a particular focus on the role played chromatin structure in the transcriptional regulation of liver genes

headshot

Allison D. Ebert, PhD

Associate Professor

aebert@mcw.edu

(414) 955-2979

Neurodegenerative diseases, both understanding the molecular basis for the disease progression and finding effective experimental therapies

headshot

Herve Falet, PhD

Assistant Professor

herve.falet@bcw.edu

(414) 937-3870

Cell Biology of Platelets and Megakaryocytes

headshot

Todd M. Hoagland, PhD

Professor

thoagland@mcw.edu

(414) 955-7560

Medical education, Clinical anatomy, Gross anatomy and Instructional methodology

headshot

Gary L. Kolesari, MD, PhD

Professor

edkoles@mcw.edu

(414) 955-8472

Mechanisms of action responsible for cardiovascular birth defects

headshot

Beth B. Krippendorf, PhD

Professor

bkrippen@mcw.edu

(414) 955-4602

Comprehensive teaching in Clinical Human Anatomy, Cell and Tissue Biology and Integrated Medical Neuroscience

headshot

Brian A. Link, PhD

Professor

blink@mcw.edu

(414) 955-8072

Genetics and cell biology of ocular development and disease

headshot

Xuelin Lou, PhD

Associate Professor

xulou@mcw.edu

(414) 955-8197

Synaptic transmission and hormone secretion

headshot

John W. Lough, PhD

Professor

jlough@mcw.edu

(414) 955-8459

Cell and molecular biology of early heart development

headshot

John D. McCorvy, PhD

Assistant Professor

jmccorvy@mcw.edu

(414) 955-7635

Molecular Mechanisms of G protein-coupled Receptor Biased Signaling

headshot

Michaela Patterson, PhD

Assistant Professor

mpatterson@mcw.edu

(414) 955-4289

Cellular and molecular mechanisms that govern heart regeneration

headshot

Michael A. Schellpfeffer, MD, MS

Adjunct Associate Professor

mschellpfeff@mcw.edu

(414) 955-8115

High frequency ultrasound imaging of the chick embryo as a model to study intrauterine growth restriction, and to study the developing cardiovascular system using microbubble contrast imaging

headshot

Cheryl L. Stucky, PhD

Marvin Wagner Professor; Director, Neuroscience Doctoral Program

cstucky@mcw.edu

(414) 955-8373

Molecules that sense touch and pain

headshot

Matthew B. Veldman, PhD

Assistant Professor

mveldman@mcw.edu

(414) 955-8155

Development, degeneration, and regeneration within the central nervous system

headshot

Margaret Wong-Riley, PhD

Professor

mwr@mcw.edu

(414) 955-8467

Coupling of neuronal activity and energy metabolism at the cellular and molecular levels. Critical period of neurochemical and metabolic development in brain stem respiratory neurons. Photobiomodulation of neurons functionally inactivated by toxins

headshot

Nan Zhu, PhD

Assistant Professor

nzhu@mcw.edu

(414) 933-5000

Epigenetic regulation of stem cells and how dysregulation of these pathways contributes to cancer development

Secondary & Adjunct Faculty

headshot

Ivor Benjamin,, MD, FAHA, FACC

Director, Cardiovascular Center; Professor, Medicine, Physiology, Pharmacology and Toxicology, Cell Biology, Neurobiology and Anatomy, and Surgery

lbenjamin@mcw.edu

Ivor J. Benjamin MD, FAHA, FACC, is a board-certified specialist and consultant in internal medicine and cardiology, Dr. Benjamin’s clinical interests are general cardiology, inheritable heart failure, and myocardial infarction.

headshot

Joseph Besharse, PhD, FARVO

Marjorie & Joseph Heil Professor in Ophthalmology Research Director, the Eye Institute

jbeshars@mcw.edu

(414) 955-8063

Cellular and molecular basis of circadian rhythmicity; the cellular basis of membrane turnover in retinal photoreceptors

headshot

Robert Blank, MD, PhD

Professor and Chief, Medicine (Endocrinology); Professor, Cell Biology, Neurobiology and Anatomy and Physiology; Director, TOPS Obesity Center

roblank@mcw.edu

(414) 955-6724

The genetics of bone biomechanical performance and of vertebral development

headshot

Joseph Carroll, PhD

Richard O. Schultz, MD / Ruth Works Professor of Ophthalmology Professor of Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences, Biophysics, and Cell Biology, Neurobiology and Anatomy Director, Advanced Ocular Imaging Program

jcarroll@mcw.edu

(414) 955-2052

High-resolution retinal imaging & structure-function relationships in the human retina

headshot

Edgar A. DeYoe, PhD

Principal Investigator; Professor, Department of Radiology; Professor, Department of Cell Biology, Neurobiology & Anatomy; Associate Professor, Department of Biophysics; Graduate Faculty, Programs in Cell & Developmental Biology, Neuroscience and Biophysics; Section of Imaging Research, Division of Imaging Sciences

deyoe@mcw.edu

(414) 955-4920

Functional neuroimaging (FMRI) of brain systems responsible for sensory perception, especially vision, and brain-related sensory pathology

headshot

Carol Everson, PhD

Professor

The physical health effects of sleep deprivation with a focus on neuroendocrine and immune systems

headshot

Nashaat Gerges, PhD, BPharm

Associate Professor, Chair of the Department of Biopharmaceutical Sciences

ngerges@mcw.edu

(414) 955-4107

Cellular and molecular mechanisms of synaptic plasticity

headshot

Shawn Jobe, MD, PhD

Associate Professor

shawn.jobe@bcw.edu

(414) 257-2424

Cellular biology and physiology of platelet activation and coagulation, mitochondrial events in activated platelets

headshot

Iris S. Kassem, MD, PhD

Assistant Professor, Department of Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences, Assistant Professor of Cell Biology, Neurobiology, and Anatomy

ikassem@mcw.edu

(414) 607-5280

Amblyopia, pediatric cataracts, pediatric eye trauma, retinopathy of prematurity, strabismus

headshot

Shekar N. Kurpad, MD, PhD

Chair, Professor

(414) 955-7199

Translational applications of neural and mesenchymal stem cells in neurotrauma and neurooncology

headshot

Daniel Lipinski, MSc, DPhil

Assistant Professor of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences, Assistant Professor of Cell Biology, Neurobiology and Anatomy

dlipinski@mcw.edu

(414) 955-2062

Recombinant adeno-associated virus (rAAV)-mediated gene therapy, diabetic retinopathy, inherited retinal disease (e.g., Retinitis pigmentosa), age-related macular degeneration (AMD)

headshot

Alan Mast, MD, PhD

Associate Professor

alan.mast@mcw.edu

(414) 937-6310

Tissue factor pathway inhibitor

headshot

Peter J. Newman, PhD

Professor; Vice President for Research, BloodCenter of Wisconsin; Associate Director, Blood Research Institute

peter.newman@bcw.edu

(414) 937-6237

Cell and molecular biology of adhesion receptors, vascular biology, and signal transduction

headshot

Frank A. Pintar, PhD

Professor

The biomechanics of brain and spinal cord injury, mechanics of spine surgical techniques, military and motor vehicle crash trauma

headshot

Ramani Ramchandran, PhD

Professor

rramchan@mcw.edu

(414) 955-2387

Blood vessel patterning in vertebrates and its application to human disease

headshot

Sridhar Rao, MD, PhD

Assistant Professor

srrao@mcw.edu

(414) 937-3841

Transcriptional regulation of stem cells

headshot

Elena Semina, PhD

Professor and Chair, Division of Developmental Biology

esemina@mcw.edu

(414) 955-4996

headshot

Roy Silverstein, MD

Professor and Chair of Medicine

Molecular and cellular pathogenesis of thrombosis, atherosclerosis and angiogenesis with focus on role of the type 2 scavenger receptor CD36

headshot

Rashmi Sood, PhD

Associate Professor

rsood@mcw.edu

(414) 955-2451

Vascular bed of the placenta and the mechanism of pregnancy-related cardiovascular disorders

headshot

Jennifer Strande, MD, PhD

Associate Professor

jstrande@mcw.edu

(414) 955-7568

Using induced pluripotent stem cells to study dystrophic cardiomyopathy

headshot

Dorothee Weihrauch, DVM, PhD

Professor

dorothee@mcw.edu

(414) 955-5739

Coronary collateral growth and impaired angiogenesis in diabetes

Emeritus Faculty

Stanley Kaplan, PhD
Professor Emeritus

Danny Riley, PhD
Professor Emeritus

Marvin Wagner, MD
Professor Emeritus