AdobeStock_214253348

Primary Faculty

headshot

Jonathan S. Marchant, MA, PhD

Marcus Professor & Chair

jmarchant@mcw.edu

Calcium Signaling in excitable cells, nervous system regeneration

headshot

Xiaowen Bai, MD, PhD

Associate Professor

xibai@mcw.edu

(414) 955-5755

Stem cell-mediated tissue regeneration, human stem cell-based disease modeling, non-coding RNA and mitochondrial mechanisms in neurodegeneration

headshot

Michele A. Battle, PhD

Associate Professor

mbattle@mcw.edu

(414) 955-8089

Transcriptional control of liver and gut development and physiology

headshot

David L. Bolender, PhD

Professor

bolender@mcw.edu

(414) 955-8474

Tissue interactions in embryonic heart development/curriculum development

headshot

Lisa Ann Cirillo, PhD

Associate Professor; Assistant Dean for Basic Science Curriculum

lcirillo@mcw.edu

(414) 955-4694

Molecular mechanisms underlying liver development and function, with a particular focus on the role played chromatin structure in the transcriptional regulation of liver genes

headshot

Lezi E, PhD

Assistant Professor

lezie@mcw.edu

(414) 955-8416

Molecular mechanisms underlying neurodegeneration, with a focus on the upstream, non-neuronal signals that trigger the onset of neurodegeneration in aging

headshot

Allison D. Ebert, PhD

Associate Professor; Director, Neuroscience Doctoral Program

aebert@mcw.edu

(414) 955-2979

Neurodegenerative diseases, both understanding the molecular basis for the disease progression and finding effective experimental therapies

headshot

Herve Falet, PhD

Associate Professor

hfalet@mcw.edu

(414) 937-3870

Cell Biology of Platelets and Megakaryocytes

headshot

Jeff Fritz, PhD

Associate Professor

jefritz@mcw.edu

(715) 870-0908

Integration of foundational medical sciences curriculum with professional identity formation, well-being and leadership studies

headshot

Beth B. Krippendorf, PhD

Professor

bkrippen@mcw.edu

(414) 955-4602

Comprehensive teaching in Clinical Human Anatomy, Cell and Tissue Biology and Integrated Medical Neuroscience

headshot

Pui-Ying (Penny) Lam, PhD

Assistant Professor

plam@mcw.edu

(414) 955-2133

Chemo-optogenetic/Photopharmacological tool development, cellular and molecular mechanisms of immunity in the central nervous system

headshot

Brian A. Link, PhD

Professor

blink@mcw.edu

(414) 955-8072

Genetics and cell biology of ocular development and disease

headshot

Xuelin Lou, PhD

Associate Professor

xulou@mcw.edu

(414) 955-8197

Synaptic transmission and hormone secretion

headshot

John W. Lough, PhD

Professor

jlough@mcw.edu

(414) 955-8459

Cell and molecular biology of early heart development

headshot

John D. McCorvy, PhD

Assistant Professor

jmccorvy@mcw.edu

(414) 955-7635

Molecular Mechanisms of G protein-coupled Receptor Biased Signaling

headshot

Teresa Patitucci, PhD

Assistant Professor

tpatituc@mcw.edu

(414) 955-8448

Educational research in the anatomical sciences, utilizing reflective practice to develop professionalism skills, analyzing in-class teaching paradigms, and evaluating alternative assessment methods

headshot

Michaela Patterson, PhD

Assistant Professor

mpatterson@mcw.edu

(414) 955-4289

Cellular and molecular mechanisms that govern heart regeneration

headshot

John A. Pulikkan, PhD

Assistant Professor

john.pulikkan@bcw.edu

(414) 937-6839

Deciphering the interplay between transcription factors and chromatin dynamics in normal and malignant hematopoietic stem cells, and understanding the function of non-coding RNAs in myeloid development and leukemia

headshot

Michael A. Schellpfeffer, MD, MS

Professor

mschellpfeff@mcw.edu

(414) 955-8115

High frequency ultrasound imaging of the chick embryo as a model to study intrauterine growth restriction, and to study the developing cardiovascular system using microbubble contrast imaging

headshot

Cheryl L. Stucky, PhD

Marvin Wagner Professor

cstucky@mcw.edu

(414) 955-8373

Molecules that sense touch and pain

headshot

Daochun Sun, PhD

Assistant Professor

dsun@mcw.edu

(414) 955-8158

Tumor heterogeneity, Cancer stem cells, Neurofibromatosis Type 1-associated peripheral nerve and central nerve system tumors, and data mining in biological big data

headshot

Kenichiro Taniguchi, PhD

Assistant Professor

ktaniguchi@mcw.edu

(414) 955-4158

Stem Cells, Apicosome and Amniogenesis of Early Human Development

headshot

Matthew B. Veldman, PhD

Assistant Professor

mveldman@mcw.edu

(414) 955-8155

Development, degeneration, and regeneration within the central nervous system

headshot

Nan Zhu, PhD

Assistant Professor

nzhu@mcw.edu

(414) 933-5000

Epigenetic regulation of stem cells and how dysregulation of these pathways contributes to cancer development

Emeritus Faculty

Joseph Besharse, PhD, FARVO
Professor Emeritus
jbeshars@mcw.edu 

Stanley Kaplan, PhD
Professor Emeritus

Gary L. Kolesari, MD, PhD
Professor Emeritus
edkoles@mcw.edu

Danny Riley, PhD
Professor Emeritus
dariley@mcw.edu 

Margaret Wong-Riley, PhD
Professor Emeritus
mwr@mcw.edu