Society for Research Excellence

Now Accepting Nominations for 2018-2019 Membership:

To nominate an outstanding researcher, submit a completed Nomination Form and CV of nominee to by Monday, July 9.

Society for Research Excellence Convocation MedallionThe Office of Research is pleased to host the MCW Society for Research Excellence, a new collective of select MCW faculty with a demonstrated commitment to discovery, mentorship, leadership, and advancement in research.

Mission: To foster, promote and recognize excellence across MCW in all types of research and discovery.

Members of the SRE are characterized by such experience as:

  • Sustained research leadership leading to high impact discoveries or findings
  • History of serving as an effective mentor for trainees and/or junior faculty
  • National recognition for research, such as high visibility publications, national or international leadership roles, and/or receipt of awards
  • MCW full time or full professional effort appointment for at least 5 years

Inaugural Membership (2017)

Tom Aufderheide, MD
Emergency Medicine

Joseph T. Barbieri, PhD
Microbiology and Immunology

Allen W. Cowley, Jr., PhD

Nancy M. Dahms, PhD

Mary M. Horowitz, MD
Medicine: Hematology and Oncology

Balaraman Kalyanaraman, PhD

Jeffrey A. Kelly, PhD
Psychiatry and Behavioral Medicine

Purushottam (Prakash) W. Laud, PhD
Institute for Health & Equity

Julie A. Panepinto, MD
Pediatrics: Hematology and Oncology

Frank A. Pintar, PhD

Nita H. Salzman, MD, PhD
Pediatrics: Gastroenterology

Roy L. Silverstein, MD
Medicine: Administration