Research Bench Lab

Named Chairs at MCW

The following faculty members hold endowed chairs. Their names and titles are listed in a form appropriate for first reference.

Meena Bedi, MD, Sharon K. Wadina Professor in Sarcoma Research

Joseph C. Besharse, PhD, Marjorie & Joseph Heil Professor in Ophthalmology

William B. Campbell, PhD, Florence Williams Professor of Pharmacology and Toxicology, Chair, Department of Pharmacology and Toxicology

Joseph J. Carroll, PhD, Richard O. Schultz, MD Ruth Works Professorship in Ophthalmology

Timothy E. Corden, MD, Kaemmer Professor in Pediatrics: The "Super Kid" Chair in Special Needs

Deborah M. Costakos, MD, MS, R.D. & Linda Peters Professor in Ophthalmology and Chair, Department of Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences

Allen W. Cowley, Jr., PhD, Harry & Gertrude Hack Term Professorship in Physiology

Marc A. de Moya, MD, Milton & Lidy Lunda/Charles Aprahamian Professor of Trauma Surgery and Chief of Trauma and Acute Care Surgery

Arthur R. Derse, MD, JD, Julia and David Uihlein Chair in Medical Humanities, Professor of Bioethics and Emergency Medicine, and Director of the Center for Bioethics and Medical Humanities

Lisa Grill Dodson, MD, Sentry Dean and Founding Dean, MCW-Central Wisconsin, Professor, Department of Family and Community Medicine

William R. Drobyski, MD, Mariette C. & Philip W. Orth/Tom Anderson Professor in Neoplastic Diseases

Douglas B. Evans, MD, Chair and Donald C. Ausman Family Foundation Professor of Surgery

T. Clark Gamblin, MD, Stuart D. Wilson Professor of Surgery and Chief of Surgical Oncology

Ben George, MD, William Stapp Professor and Associate Professor of Medicine (Hematology/Oncology)

Kenneth B. Gordon, MD, Thomas J. Russell Family/Milwaukee Community Dermatologists Chair of Dermatology and Professor of Dermatology

Jon C. Gould, MD, Alonzo P. Walker Professor in General Surgery 

Dennis P. Han, MD, Jack A. & Elaine D. Klieger Professor of Ophthalmology

Parameswaran Hari, MD, MS, Armand J. Quick/William F. Stapp Professor in Hematology

Robert J. Havlik, MD, Chair and George J. Korkos, MD Professor in Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery

Johnny C. Hong, MD, Mark B. Adams Chair in Surgery

Mary M. Horowitz, MD, MS, Robert A. Uihlein, Jr. Professor of Hematologic Research and Director of the Center for International Blood & Marrow Transplant Research

Siegfried Janz, MD, DSc, William G. Schuett, Jr., Multiple Myeloma Endowed Chair

Adina Luba Kalet, MD, MPH, Stephen and Shelagh Roell Endowed Chair, Professor and Director, Robert D. and Patricia E. Kern Institute for the Transformation of Medical Education

Balaraman Kalyanaraman, PhD, Chair and Harry R. & Angeline E. Quadracci Professor in Parkinson's Research (Biophysics)

David M. King, MD, Chair and Paul A. Jacobs, MD Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery

John R. Kirby, PhD, Chair and Walter Schroeder Professor of Microbiology and Immunology

Shekar N. Kurpad, MD, PhD, Sanford J. Larson, MD, PhD, Professor and Chair, Department of Neurosurgery

Jon Lehrmann, MD, Charles E. Kubly Chair in Psychiatry and Behavioral Medicine, Chair and Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Medicine

Mingyu Liang, MB, PhD, Kohler Co. Professor in Cardiovascular Research, Professor of Physiology and Director of the Center of Systems Molecular Medicine

Cynthia A. Lien, MD, Chair and John P. Kampine Professor of Anesthesiology

Kirk A. Ludwig, MD, FACS, FASCRS, Vernon O. Underwood Professor in Colon Cancer Research and Professor of Surgery

Jonathan Marchant, PhD, MA, Chair and Marcus Professor of Cell Biology, Neurobiology & Anatomy

Vincent P. Mathews, MD, Chair and James E. Youker MD, Professor in Radiology

Jeffrey A. Medin, PhD, MACC Fund Professor

Ann B. Nattinger, MD, MPH, MACP, Lady Riders Professor of Breast Cancer Research, Associate Provost for Research, Professor of Medicine

Joan Neuner, MD, MPH, Georgia Carroll Chair in Women's Health Research

Frank A. Pintar, PhD, Chair and Dr. Robert D. and Dr. Patricia E. Kern Professor of Biomedical Engineering, and Director of the Zablocki VA Medical Center Neuroscience Labs

Janet S. Rader, MD, Chair and Jack A. & Elaine D. Klieger Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology

Philip N. Redlich, MD, PhD, Gerald L. Schmitz, MD Professor of Surgery, Associate Dean for Curriculum, and Chief of Surgery Education

John Rhee, MD, MPH, Chair and John C. Koss Professor in Otolaryngology & Communication Sciences

Ann K. Rosenthal, MD, Will & Cava Ross Professor of Medicine, Chief of Rheumatology, and Director of the Arthritis Institute

Hallgeir Rui, MD, PhD, Wisconsin Breast Cancer Showhouse (WBCS) Endowed Chair in Basic Breast Cancer Research and Professor of Pathology

Kia Saeian, MS, MD, FACG, Konrad H. Soergel, MD, and Walter J. Hogan, MD, Endowed Professor

Brian D. Schmit, PhD, Professor and Hammes Family Endowed Chair, Marquette University and MCW Department of Biomedical Engineering

Christopher J. Schultz, MD, Bernard & Miriam Peck Family Professor of Radiation Oncology

William See, MD, Richard Bentley Bourne, MD, Term Professor

Reza Shaker, MD, Chief and Joseph E. Geenen Professor of Gastroenterology, Associate Provost for Clinical and Translational Research, and Director of the Digestive Disease Center

Curt D. Sigmund, PhD, Chair and James J. Smith and Catherine Welsch Smith Professor in Physiology

Roy L. Silverstein, MD, Chair and Linda and John Mellowes Professor of Medicine

Manu Sood, MBBS, Digestive Disease Center Board Endowed Chair in Inflammatory Bowel Disease Research

Ryan Spellecy, PhD, Ursula von der Ruhr Chair in Bioethics

Melinda Stolley, PhD, Ann E. Heil Professor in Cancer Research

Cheryl Stucky, PhD, Marvin Wagner Professor of Cell Biology, Neurobiology, and Anatomy

Raul A. Urrutia, MD, Warren P. Knowles Professor of Genomics and Precision Medicine

Carole S. Vetter, MD, David S. Haskell, MD Endowed Professor in Orthopaedic Education

Alonzo P. Walker, MD, Ruth Teske Professor of Surgical Oncology

Michael C. Weisgerber, MD, Elsa B. and Roger D. Cohen, MDs, Professor in Medical Education and Associate Professor of Pediatrics

Michael E. Widlansky, MD, MPH, Northwestern Mutual Professor of Cardiology

Carol L. Williams, PhD, Joan K. Van Deuren Professorship in Breast Cancer Research

Ming You, MD, PhD, Joseph F. Heil, Jr. Professor of Molecular Oncogenesis

Open Chairs

  • James S. Hyde Professor of Biophysics and Director of the National Biomedical EPR Center
  • Joel and Arlene Lee Chair in Pancreatic Cancer Research
  • Kellner Professor of Pediatrics
  • Patrick J. & Margaret G. McMahon Chair of Obstetrics and Gynecology
  • Robert C. Olson, MD, Professor in Radiology
  • Wigdale Professor of Microbiome Research